closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Something Uber Rare and lovely - 1940 Hanhart Cal 40.

Something Uber Rare and lovely - 1940 Hanhart Cal 40.

About 8 months ago was I invited to a good friend’s house for Sunday lunch – roast lamb, and very nice it was too.

Just after lunch, my friend, who wears an old beaten up Rolex Oyster (he is a builder by trade) but has never expressed an interest in watches, handed me a envelope which contained a press cutting from his local new paper. The article was about how a near-by auction room recently sold a “Luftwaffe” watch. The watch in question was a 1940 Hanhart, smooth bezel Cal 40. Ohh nice I thought, as I have been been on the lookout for Steve McQueen 417 ES version of the same watch myself .
    Therefore imagine my surprise when he produced this!!

Ratty I think you would agree, but rare. We just did not know then quite how rare.
    Anyway my friend asked my opinion and we both agreed that it was well worth getting it restored. Plus I knew just the person to help us.
    The watch was duly dispatched to Andrew Leftly at Time World Services (a member here and on the MWF) who I have had the pleasure to meet and view is rather own impressive collection of military timepieces at the SWGTG a couple of year back.
    As warned by Andrew, days turned to weeks and week turned to months – well he did have to find the right parts (handset and crown, cannon wheel, etc) , but last week I got the call to tell me it was finally finished and here is the result.

Stunning I am sure you would agree for a 73 year old watch.

Very rare yes! But perhaps more importantly, the earliest known example of this particular watch - number 20 ! Possibility even a pre-production model or from the initial production run.

How it turned up in the UK remains a mystery, as does whether or not it was issued to the Luftwaffe as it’s not marked. But even so it’s a very nice thing to have.