closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Omega 1953 RAF - Which strap.

Apprentice

Omega 1953 RAF - Which strap.

Can anyone tell me what strap was fitted to the Omega 1953 RAF when they were issued to the RAF. The Omega website shows it with a brown leather 2 piece. Mine needs a new one and something like the original would be nice. I haven't jumped on the collecting original exotica bandwagon so to speak. It was just an old watch when I bought it in 1977 for £25 and I was truly amazed when I found out the prices they go for now. Thanks for your help.

Hi

..and welcome to the board. I am no expert on this though I believe a 'Bonklip' bracelet may have been the order of the day or a cotton, stitched strap similar to the current 'NATO'.

One or two other members may put me straight on this so check back and see what transpires.

Cheers

Ewan

I have usually worn mine on a grey NATO. I think it sets the watch off well.
    By the way you got a bargain - I paid 29.00 for mine!

Regards
    8)
    Rod

Re: Omega 1953 RAF - Which strap.

Quote Originally Posted by whifflingclara
    ........... I bought it in 1977 for £25 and I was truly amazed when I found out the prices they go for now. ...........
    I got an IWC at the same time for the same price. There was boxfulls of them. This or that? All one price. 8)

john
    Costume jewellery. Ouch!!!

Thomas Reid

Re: Omega 1953 RAF - Which strap.

Quote Originally Posted by abraxas
    Quote Originally Posted by whifflingclara
    ........... I bought it in 1977 for £25 and I was truly amazed when I found out the prices they go for now. ...........
    I got an IWC at the same time for the same price. There was boxfulls of them. This or that? All one price. 8)

john
    Any leftovers you want to get rid of? :D

Best wishes,
    Bob

Apprentice
    Thanks for the replies gents.
    I've just found out what a "Bonklip" bracelet is.