closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Can anyone offer any double glazing/sound proofing advice?

Can anyone offer any double glazing/sound proofing advice?

The double glazing in my house is 20 years old and although in good condition is crap at noise reduction.
    The house is a normal sized 3 bed detached.
    I am keen to minimise noise at the front of the house, specifically the front bay window and master bedroom.
    The bay window is 4 panels with 2 openings and the bedroom has 3 panels with 2 openings.
    I have been looking at acoustic glass double glazing (whole windows/frames, not just the glass). Is this worth the extra expense and could anyone offer a ballpark cost for the 2 windows? Many thanks
    Last edited by ODP; 7th April 2024 at 16:28.

Master
    I’m not an expert but I think the fitting is important. Lots of suppliers for the windows poorly with huge gaps that are then barely filled with cheap foam

Quote Originally Posted by Rodder View Post
    I’m not an expert but I think the fitting is important. Lots of suppliers for the windows poorly with huge gaps that are then barely filled with cheap foam
    Interesting, thank you

If the acoustic glazing is anything like that fitted to cars, it should be amazing.
    "Bite my shiny metal ass."
    - Bender Bending Rodríguez

Master
    When I lived next to the main east coast main line and was changing the windows I was advised to have the glass pains different thickness in the panel to stop different frequencies, I ended up not hearing the trains but felt them instead. When the MOD paid for new windows in all the houses around RAF leeming when the Tornado was there they always put triple glazing in.

Sent from my iPhone using TZ-UK mobile app