closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: On-line privacy .. .Where’s Wally ....

Master
    Blog Entries

On-line privacy .. .Where’s Wally ....

I have seen some interesting posts about how much we are/maybe giving away posting photos on a SC topic ...

I am fairly loose with my on-line privacy and suspect I can be found quite easily.

So here is a challenge.

Can you find my home address from this post alone? (I think I have turned off GPS tagging on my phone but I'm no expert)

The first person to PM me my address and I will make a £25 donation to the fundraiser in their name ...

Please do not post my address in this thread ...

Note this is a game so please don’t disclose any info you may find on this thread.

Last edited by Montello; 12th March 2024 at 20:47.

Master
    Interesting topic. So: strictly speaking, from your initial post in this thread alone, there isn't enough information for someone to track down your address.

Someone with administrator privileges on this site could see your IP address, and maybe narrow down your location a bit but not to a street number unless they also had access to customer details at your ISP.

The metadata on the image you posted claims that you took it on an iPhone 11 at 3:53pm on the 8th December 2022, but no location information is recorded.

So although I'm not into online stalking myself and wouldn't bother, the next step would be to trawl through your other posts on the site and look for clues, or to search for your username in other corners of the WWW.

Master
    Tapatalk strips out even more metadata, including the device type.

Master
    Blog Entries
    I'm pretty sure my IP address would only lead you as far as my ISP ...

Master
    Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by monogroover View Post
    ... or to search for your username in other corners of the WWW.