closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: What’s going on with this 5513, Franken or fake??

What’s going on with this 5513, Franken or fake??

This 5513 looks so so wrong on so many fronts but I can’t work out if it’s a fraken or total fake, what do you think?

https://www.the-saleroom.com/en-gb/a...lot-image-link
    Last edited by murkeywaters; 10th August 2023 at 09:27.

Looks very dodgy to me, i'd say its a fake.

Dial (Looks like it was badly painted) and insert dont look real, its got hands that don't match and the movement is missing it's calibre model number. As far as i know it should have 1520 near the "SWISS" marking.
    Last edited by AmosMoses; 10th August 2023 at 09:43.

Grand Master
    And maybe only worth what any Rolex are worth now so shouldn't be a huge loss hopefully!.

I'm far from an expert, but that dial does look off to me, even if I can't quite explain why.

The replacement hands and modern bezel insert with probably a luminova pip do create a distorted image against the older looking dial.

The 3, 6 and 9 plots do look a little odd, you can almost see where someone has drawn an oblong and it looks bigger than the area filled with whatever (tritium?).
    Last edited by Wallasey Runner; 10th August 2023 at 13:36.

What’s going on with this 5513, Franken or fake??

Quote Originally Posted by Wallasey Runner View Post
    The replacement hands and modern bezel insert with probably a luminova pip do create a distorted image against the older looking dial.

The 3, 6 and 9 plots do look a little odd, you can almost see where someone has drawn an oblong and it looks bigger than the area filled with whatever (tritium?).
    The case/crown guards were more my concern, or is that a service case?

Quote Originally Posted by murkeywaters View Post
    The case/crown guards were more my concern, or is that a service case?