closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Brompton and other folding bikes

Brompton and other folding bikes

Good Morning:

Firstly, I am pretty new to bikes in general. I mean, I used to ride plenty of bikes growing up in the 1980s, but I imagine like many things, the technology changes fast.

I am looking to buy a Brompton or similar bike for urban cycling (around London) but also to take down to Sussex and use in the countryside. I likely need a bike with a decent selection of gears for varying gradients. In an ideal world, the bike would be super-light, but I appreciate the saving in weight comes at a serious financial cost!

I like the idea of a Brompton, the sturdiness of the bikes and the longevity of the brand. Re-sale value is not of immediate concern, but does indicate a good brand in general.

What should I be looking for, considering Bromptons and/or other brands. I will likely be buying new and taking advantage of the 'Work-scheme', unless that is an absolute bargain second-hand (what do I need to look out for here if I do go for the latter).

Many thanks in advance. Alex.

I think your challenge is that you are combining two quite different requirements - the Brompton will be superb about town but sub-optimal in the countryside, and especially on any serious hills.

If your budget is suitably generous you could look at a Birdy folding bike.

You could (whether Brompton or Birdy) consider an electric option. I have no experience with the electric versions of either but imagine it would resolve the uphill side of the hills challenge quite satisfactorily … not so sure about the downhill side mind …

Do you definitely need to take it on the train a lot? The cost of a Brompton or Birdy would get you a nice non-folding bike for each location.

Quote Originally Posted by proby24 View Post
    Good Morning: