closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Car storage; 'Carcoon' or ...

Blog Entries

Car storage; 'Carcoon' or ...

The rising prices of working on classic cars has fired an interest about car preservation. In the workshop, we get regular questions about car storage, like Carcoon https://www.carcoon.com or Air Chamber https://airflow-uk.com/product/car-airchamber

I understand the interest in these products: the purchase price of one of these is lower than any rust removal and respray job in a workshop! But I have no experience with these items and I know nothing about the way they function.

For instance: both (Carcoon and Air Chamber) draw air in from the outside of the membrane (I don't have another word for it). That is not dry air, I suppose. Or as a friend put it:

'
    The idea that higher air volume and more rapid changes inside the chamber eliminates moisture and humidity issues doesn't exactly make sense to me. If it's super humid outside, why won't it be super humid inside? There's no dryer or dessicant involved. Wny not simply install a fan in our garages to prevent condensation?'

Does any of you have experience storing a car in a Carcoon or Air Chamber? And is there more to know about it that I didn't think of?

M.

Master
    I stored my '68 Lotus 7 then my '73 911 RS (clone) in a carcoon. It's presently housing My Mk1 Mini - no corrosion issues .

It has two added benefits:-

(1) it affords a degree of protection to the vehicle stored - less chance of accidental dings or scratches in a cramped garage and

(2) It keeps out the mice ( I live in the country)

( When the mice ate my ski boots I was annoyed , when they ate my crash helmet I was really cross , but when they ate my Ferrari I was apoplectic )

I've had both, and they do the same thing. I currently use a Carcoon for my 930.