closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Gallet chronograph - genuine?

Journeyman

Gallet chronograph - genuine?

Hi all,

I am not an expert in vintage watches but have been keen on getting a Gallet chronograph for a little while now. I also care a lot about condition so has been quite hard to find good condition pieces from the 50's and 60's unsurprisingly.

So I am just looking for some advice on a piece on Chrono24 (link below) from a well rated seller in Japan that looks nice atleast on the face of it... The condition looks too perfect and so I assume it is either has a lot of replacement parts or at the least is a redial? I am not against the idea of refinishing something, but any thoughts on whether to steer clear or consider it?

https://www.chrono24.co.uk/gallet/ga...id25433240.htm

Thanks!

Gallet 4.JPGGallet 6.JPG

I’m guessing that watch has been heavily restored. Don’t really know enough about the brand, but the crown and pushers look brand new. If the dial has been restored it does look a good job. Why not ask the seller.

Some thoughts
    I do not recall seeing an original that is an exact match to this. Doesn't mean there wasn't one, but it is interesting, in terms of a specification, with blued hands, no lume at all, 3.6 and 9 minute hashes and yet round pushers.
    The sub-dial hands are not a set. the central boss is differently sized on each (as well as different shapess).
    The main H and M hands are matched, but not quite long enough to be convincing to my eyes (the M hand mostly).
    The dial print is very nice, but the SWISS is perhaps too close to the minute scale (almost touching), it makes me look for other details as a re-print.