timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: What makes Seiko collectible?

What makes Seiko collectible?

This is an interesting read:

https://www.fratellowatches.com/what...o-collectible/

I also found this history lesson fascinating:

https://www.atlassian.com/blog/podca...ling-factories

I'm relatively new to this game but nearly all my small collection are Seiko now. I think that they are still good value, although prices are steadily increasing.

I'd be interested in hearing the perspective of some of the more seasoned collector's on here.
    Last edited by Rocket Man; 11th September 2022 at 11:59.

Of the millions and millions of watches Seiko have made over the years very few are collectable in reality.

Even most 1960's Seikos can still be purchased for very little money compared to the main Swiss makers.
    Cheers,
    Neil.

I was okay with Seiko until I arrived here
    "Once is happenstance. Twice is coincidence. The third time it's enemy action."

'Populism, the last refuge of a Tory scoundrel'.

Master
    They have some history, are reasonably cheap to buy depending on which end of the Seiko scale you go from, they have no waiting lists and servicing is cheap. O , and they are nice watches:)

It's a question that invites discussion of semantics. For example, if you own more than one watch: you have a collection and are a collector.
    I'd argue that intent must be there - you must deliberately set-out to form a collection.
    A collection should also have a theme: it might be 'wristwatches', or it might be 'Green-dialled Seiko Alpinist wristwatches', or whatever.

Unless they have huge amounts of space and cash, most collectors quickly realise they need a self-limiting theme.
    Seiko, with its large ranges of similar models, incessant churn of SEs - most no more than tweaks to details, plus erstwhile value-for-money pricing, is a natural choice for Collectors.