closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Best laptop for a child

Master

Best laptop for a child

Hi folks,
    My 9 year-old daughter starts at a new school in September, and all pupils are required to have their own laptop and to take this to / from school with them each day. I am therefore looking for suggestions on suitable laptops!
    I think this is the brief criteria:
    1) must be lightweight and not too large, since she will be carrying it around and she will be riding her bike to school
    2) robust
    3) doesn't need to be particularly high spec - they will most likely be using online apps, office docs etc

I was thinking about a used Macbook Air but I have no experience of using Macs and wonder if she would be better off getting used to Windows? She has only very limited experience using a computer but very familiar with using Ipads etc. so maybe a Mac would be OK?

Cheers!

If ipad with keyboard is ruled out - i would go for MacBook Air.

light, good battery life, should do everything. Just check with school maybe?

our secondary schools I believe all have authority-provided iPads.

Chromebook.
    "Once is happenstance. Twice is coincidence. The third time it's enemy action."

'Populism, the last refuge of a Tory scoundrel'.

Master
    Quote Originally Posted by Aramis9 View Post
    Ask the school in question? I'm sure they will have experience from other pupils which laptop(s) are the most durable and suitable.
    The only guidance they have given is that it needs to be either Windows, Mac or Chromebook so no iOS devices. MacBooks are popular but that could be a fashion thing.

Sent from my iPhone using TZ-UK mobile app

Chromebook or Macbook depending on budget but check out AppleCare Plus if going the Mac route as no doubt a 9 year old will smash it.

If you do go Mac I'd look at used or genuine apple refurb.