closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches



TZ-UK Fundraiser
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Hive thermostat - dead

  1. #1
    Master Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Teesside/Angola
    Posts
    2,264

    Hive thermostat - dead

    My Hive thermostat seems to have died. No lights, nothing.

    What's the best course of action? Just to buy a new one and self-install? (We've had it a few years.)

  2. #2
    Master ed335d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Surrey
    Posts
    5,512
    Apologies if this is blindingly obvious, but does it need a battery change?

  3. #3
    Master nibby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    North Wilts
    Posts
    2,420
    That was my first thought -battery change.

  4. #4
    Master Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Teesside/Angola
    Posts
    2,264
    Quote Originally Posted by ed335d View Post
    Apologies if this is blindingly obvious, but does it need a battery change?
    Unfortunately not. I wish it was that simple (and cheap).

  5. #5
    Grand Master markrlondon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    25,279
    Blog Entries
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony View Post
    My Hive thermostat seems to have died.
    Has it run out of bees?




    (Sorry. I've already got my coat on...)

  6. #6
    Master
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Wirral
    Posts
    4,681
    Our Nest died this week and I swapped to a Tado. Very impressed with the DIY instructions and the app/HomeKit integration is great so far. Iíll probably add the smart valves too at some point

  7. #7
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    288
    I have one of these and wish I didnít. Keeps on refusing to connect to the Wi-Fi. Iíll stick to a control panel on the boiler in future.

  8. #8
    Master
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    6,305
    When you factor in the cost of replacing these units, do they save you money in the long run?

    Iím not convinced to be honest

  9. #9
    Master Gruntfuttock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Peasemoldia, UK
    Posts
    5,089
    It is more about convenience than saving money. I got mine when the existing wireless thermostat broke and Hive was the natural replacement (just getting into smarthome gadgets at the time).
    The programs are easy to change via the web app, so at the moment I have adjusted them for minimal heating in the morning and the heating stays off (house is warm enough) for the rest of the day. Of course you can do this with traditional controls but it is a lot more fiddly and not at all easy.
    Last edited by Gruntfuttock; 6th October 2022 at 20:11. Reason: typo

  10. #10
    Master
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Berkshire
    Posts
    6,193
    My nest is not smart at all, first year it kept trying to cook me for no reason, and at random times. Perhaps I have a touched version. I use none of the smart features, but handy to turn on when coming home from holiday.

    Would not bother with one again tbh.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Master
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    location, location
    Posts
    3,258
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have been really impressed with Tado. You have to enable the phone location to get the best from it though.

  12. #12
    Journeyman
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Harlow Essex
    Posts
    151
    My hive died recently

    The British Gas engineer who replaced it under our Homecare Policy said it happens from time to time

    If its Batteries you get several warnings this just went dead

    Sent from my SM-A526B using TZ-UK mobile app

  13. #13
    Master Tony's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Teesside/Angola
    Posts
    2,264
    Quote Originally Posted by Noaksey View Post
    My hive died recently

    The British Gas engineer who replaced it under our Homecare Policy said it happens from time to time

    If its Batteries you get several warnings this just went dead

    Sent from my SM-A526B using TZ-UK mobile app
    Thanks.

    I bought a replacement thermostat from a bloke on eBay for £53. Up and running again.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Do Not Sell My Personal Information