closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Tips for polishing/brushing a speedmaster bracelet

Master

Tips for polishing/brushing a speedmaster bracelet

I don’t know whether this should be in mods and wreckers although I’m not planning on modding or wrecking.

I have a speedmaster Schumacher the bracelet is I think called 5 piece link. There are 5 sections to the link 3 brushed and 2 polished bands. Has anyone tackled one of these. I’m presuming it will involve some pretty good masking skills and fine work with a polishing medium and scotchbrite. Here is a library photo of a similar one. Has anyone had any success in refinishing one of these to a good standard

This thread is an excellent reference guide. It is for the Bond bracelet rather that the Speedy, but of course the process is the same.

https://forum.tz-uk.com/showthread.p...aster-bracelet

Master
    I’m struggling to see the photos in that thread clearly with the photobucket watermark. Also there isn’t much information on how you isolate the very narrow polished bars when doing the brushing. I’m guessing it’s just accurate masking. The seems to just brush the centre links

It is just accurate masking. But rather than attempting to mask the narrow polished sections in isolation, I would apply the brushed finish to your bracelet in sections.

This bracelet has three sections of brushed finish, 2 x edge sections and 1 x centre section. It’s an error to try to mask the polished sections to the extent that you can brush the rest of the bracelet in one go (in my view).

Instead, mask everything except the first edge section, apply the brushed finish, then mask everything except the 2nd edge section, apply the brushed finish, then mask everything except the centre section and apply the final brushed finish.

This way you are masking large areas (but be precise at the edges) rather than trying to isolate very narrow strips of the polished section.