closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches



TZ-UK Fundraiser
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: BT McAfee to Norton Problems?

  1. #1
    Master
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Far East (of England)
    Posts
    2,679

    BT McAfee to Norton Problems?

    Anybody else having problems transferring from McAfee to Norton on the BT free security programmes. My desktop worked fine but the Samsung tablet and phones are not playing ball!

    It seems that I am not on my own:-
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...hl=en_GB&gl=US

    More bean counters running BT it seems. They are also reducing the number of security users on the account from 15 to 2 !!!! If you have a dektop, laptop and a coulpe of phones, tablets etc., you have to buy more licenses! Out of order BT.
    Last edited by tixntox; 19th January 2022 at 17:16.

  2. #2

    BT McAfee to Norton Problems?

    Is this stuff really necessary? If free for me I still wouldn’t bother.

  3. #3
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Tyne Wear
    Posts
    263
    just uninstall it and let windows do its stuff....apologies if you use a better system

  4. #4
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    523
    I agree. The built in security in Windows is very good. MacAfee and Norton are almost as bad as some viruses. I have to use MacAfee for work, and it is a CPU hog.

  5. #5
    Master
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    6,044
    Also if you have them both at the same time they don’t like it (each other)

  6. #6
    Master Rod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Co. Durham
    Posts
    9,559
    Windows Defender and Malwarebytes are all you need
    Norton plasters itself all over the operating system and affects the performance. I wouldn't use it.

  7. #7
    Master
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Far East (of England)
    Posts
    2,679
    Many thanks for your comments. Much appreciated.

  8. #8
    Master
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,173
    Had problems initially with the dreaded Mcafee as usual. Then just decided to manually delete all mcafee files and had no problems then with the Norton install. Seems to be working fine and is much less intrusive and nowhere near as many delays etc that macafee used to cause.

  9. #9
    Master
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Far East (of England)
    Posts
    2,679
    Thank you. My "old" system doesn't help. The "marketing exercise" of "computer says No" seems to be the order of the day!

  10. #10
    Master Maysie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Middle of Nowhere (UK)
    Posts
    2,197
    Historically I have used both of these, but not for some time as I found them both to be VERY intrusive and bloaty.

    They were not quite as bad as actually having a virus/malware, but not far off. I wouldn't install either of them, even if they were available FoC.

  11. #11
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    427
    Defender will do, https://www.av-comparatives.org/test...-october-2021/. Built-in to windows is a big advantage. When I was using win10 I used cruelsister's Comodo settings, https://malwaretips.com/threads/wher...config.103245/ alongside defender. Meghan's (aka cruelsister0 videos on malwaretips are worth checking out as she shows you what happens without Comodo - very educational.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Do Not Sell My Personal Information