closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Flick Knives

Flick Knives

I'm just idly wondering why they're illegal in the UK. They don't appear to be any more stabby or lethal than any other knife, and it is apparent that concealing a fixed blade knife isn't difficult. So what's special about flick knives? Knee jerk legislation from times gone by, perhaps?

Craftsman
    I would say speed of blade deployment and one handed operation are the key reasons.

I'd always assumed that since it's design is essentially to be a concealed/ more readily concealable assault weapon then what lawful purpose/function does such a knife serve that isn't better served by a fixed blade of legal size but I'm no expert.

Also aren't some of the spring loaded type sufficiently powerful to inflict injury if held close or next to the victim and the deployment button pushed...stabbing without the need to move your arm.
    Last edited by Passenger; 17th January 2022 at 15:19.

Quote Originally Posted by hogthrob View Post
    I'm just idly wondering why they're illegal in the UK. They don't appear to be any more stabby or lethal than any other knife, and it is apparent that concealing a fixed blade knife isn't difficult. So what's special about flick knives? Knee jerk legislation from times gone by, perhaps?
    Probably. But unlike a fixed knife they are illegal per se. You can't own them (I believe the exemption for older models acquired when they were still legal has been rescinded) let alone carry them, and of course you cannot sell them.
    I believe that flick knives were considered as of not practical use other than using them against another human being, and therefore were weapons whereas other knives could at least pretend being tools.
    'Against stupidity, the gods themselves struggle in vain' - Schiller.

Piqued my interest so I was reading this page which lists the illegal-in-the-UK knives:

https://www.gov.uk/buying-carrying-knives