closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Airain type 20 or Guinard Pilot Officer

Craftsman

Airain type 20 or Guinard Pilot Officer

Hi All,
    I'm thinking of getting a chronograph and have seen 2 I like. The Airain Type 20 and Guinard Pilot Officer are the 2. I have a 6.5 inch wrist so 40mm is my max. Both just make it. Both about same price. While the look of both is subjective, the quality is a little more objective. Was wondering if anyone has tried the Guinand. How does it wear? I know there aren't many people who have tried the Airain on as not in production yet, but if you know the pros and cons of the movements, quality of cases etc., I would be grateful if you would share your knowledge.
    Thanks

With the caveat that I have no experience of either, and that my experience is invalid, I’d be looking at a Sinn356, which has a similar look, price and is only 38mm across, which would suit a 6.5inch wrist well, IMO.

Good luck with the hunt in any case, hope others here are better informed!

Airain, if you are really into that kind of thing. Guinard, if you are looking for long term peace of mind.

Me? Airain every time. But that is just me.
    Last edited by abraxas; 27th November 2021 at 12:46.

Master
    For me the Airain every time but with one caveat, reviews I’ve read of the pre production watches identified issues with the bezel action, but I believe the manufacturer has promised to have this resolved in the final production run.

The brown dial Airain was mindblowingly beautiful. Unfortunately it was a Limited Edition.

Master
    Quote Originally Posted by abraxas View Post
    The brown dial Airain was mindblowingly beautiful. Unfortunately it was a Limited Edition.
    Yes unfortunately sold out now

I see the two as very different.
    The Airain is definitely a homage, with only 50m WR, hand winding and has a bezel. Also a modern re-issue brand