closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Plumbing; replacing a ballvalve - talk me through this.

Master

Plumbing; replacing a ballvalve - talk me through this.

Hello all.

I am pretty handy when it comes to DIY and although I think I know how to do this small job, as I’ve never done this before I thought I’d seek advice first! I have all the necessary tools.

The cold water inlet ballvalve feeding the toilet it leaking (water escapes from the joint precisely where the tip of the arrow is). I don’t know if the washer or the valve but I plan to replace the whole brass ball valve. I am able to stop the escape of water by turning the ball valve (possibly this suggests it’s the washer not the valve that is leaking?).

I will stop the water at the mains. I will open the cold taps. I will drain the toilet cistern.

Is it then a case of simply unscrewing the nuts top and bottom and swapping old for new?

Should I use PTFE tape? And special precautions screwing brass to plastic? Any other clever tips of the trade before I flood the house?

Many thanks!

Last edited by ach5; 17th November 2021 at 21:22.

Not an expert plumber by any stretch of any bodies imagination but I’ve never seen a shut off valve like that before and can’t figure out what or how the bit that fits into the plastic threaded pipe works?

Off to do some Googling

Plumbing; replacing a ballvalve - talk me through this.

Found it, it’s called a straight service valve, learn something new every day

https://www.screwfix.com/p/straight-...E&gclsrc=aw.ds

So turn the water off at the mains, ensure that there is no real water pressure at the pipe work you will be opening up, drain out any existing water and open it all up.