closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Calling those who know about car wheel alignment

Craftsman

Calling those who know about car wheel alignment

I had a tyre fitted yesterday and was offered a gratis alignment check. I was surprised when the fitter showed me the attached data screen shot and offers to reset for £80 (takes 20mins. he said) As far as I can see all tyres are OK and the car drives well. I declined the offer. When I got home I looked more closely at the screen shot and can see the deviations from the norm are very small ie: minutes and not degrees. So, was it just a ploy to make a buck, or do I really need to get it done? Any informed advice appreciated. Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Craftsman
    I'm no expert but assume the illustration is exaggerated to make it clear what the figures actually mean.

Always worthwhile getting it in check, especially if you want your tyres to wear evenly and for the car to handle as it is designed to do so.

Sent from my Pixel 4 using Tapatalk

It’s worth having a four wheel alignment annually. Saves money on tyres, makes the car drive and brake better, and can reduce some odd vibrations that build up over time.

From that pic I’d suggest it’s worth it just for your driver side alignment. It’s not wildly off, but it’s going to be fighting against your steering somewhat.

Simple answer yes, the car is outside of the tolerance which has been set by the manufacturer. Before doing so get your local garage to just check the front suspension over and make sure there’s no movement in anything before adjustment otherwise it’s a waste of time.
    Tyre places annoy me that use that ploy, why not just ask or recommend do you want us to check/adjust your tracking?
    It doesn’t cost £80 to tweak 2 track rod ends assuming nothings seized- it goes from a free check to an actual charge at that price.