closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: 1st decent purchase

Apprentice

1st decent purchase

Hi all,
    My first proper post.
    I have been a long time reader of the forum, please take it easy on me.

So I was going to buy a BB58 back at Christmas time but because of a few reasons I didn’t pull the trigger.
    But am going to buy my first proper watch soon.

I have a Seamaster quartz (bought cheap 10 years ago and lost a bit of love for) Seiko PADI turtle and a 5 and a square 5600 series G-shock.

I would like either a automatic diver or pilot watch.
    Whichever one I go for, i will aim for the other one in the future.

I’m looking at a new Blue BB58 but have noticed a Zenith 40mm and 45mm pilot watches on heavy discount on the EJ website until midnight (think they are heavily discounted every couple of months)

I’m 50:50 at the moment, what are your experienced thoughts.
    This is a watch to use regularly, I’m not worried about dings and resale value….. but don’t want to overpay.

Master
    You already have decent watches, please don't get dragged in to the mindset of if it doesn't cost a bomb, it's worthless.

Enjoy them for what they are, and don't give a damn about their price point. Interesting watches needn't set you back mega bucks. It's a hobby (but to many an obsession) enjoy it for what it is.

Quote Originally Posted by catflem View Post
    You already have decent watches, please don't get dragged in to the mindset of if it doesn't cost a bomb, it's worthless.
    That.

WTT the Zenith, I have the 45mm, absolutely love it. The crown is push-pull and is very large so from time to time it does worry me that it can or will take a big knock but that hasn't happened so far. The dial is hugely legible, the lume is decent but not as good as in your Turtle, the case is nice but the caseback is fantastic. Get it in 45mm, the larger size suits it better than 40mm.