closing tag is in template navbar
Time Factors Watches



TZ-UK Fundraiser
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: iPad wi-fi help needed.

  1. #1
    Grand Master
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Somerset (U.k )
    Posts
    11,010
    Blog Entries
    1

    iPad wi-fi help needed.

    The other half’s iPad has decided she is not connected to the internet.

    In settings it shows she is connect to our router but in the top left of her screen next to the battery meter there is no wi-if symbol, despite settings showing she is in fact connect to our router.

    I have manually disconnected it from our router and told her iPad to forget it and logged back into the router, which in settings again says it’s connected but it’s clearly not. Cannot send/receive Mail or browse the web.

    Any ideas I could try?
    Cheers,

    Ben



    ..... for I have become the Jedi of flippers


    " an extravagance is anything you buy that is of no earthly use to your wife "

  2. #2
    Hard reset of iPad is the next step.

  3. #3
    Master robcuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Haarlem, NL
    Posts
    2,425
    Quote Originally Posted by junglebert View Post
    Hard reset of iPad is the next step.
    Try resetting Network Settings first eh?

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by robcuk View Post
    Try resetting Network Settings first eh?
    If you fancy, hard reset is easy and quick, and will work.

  5. #5
    I typed my answer but disappeared.

    Try forgetting WiFi network, then switch off iPad completely. Then the reconnect.

    You can also try airplane mode on and off.

  6. #6
    Grand Master
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Somerset (U.k )
    Posts
    11,010
    Blog Entries
    1
    How does one hard reset and are there any issues arising from this?
    Cheers,

    Ben



    ..... for I have become the Jedi of flippers


    " an extravagance is anything you buy that is of no earthly use to your wife "

  7. #7
    Grand Master MartynJC (UK)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Surrey, UK. Odiáxere or somewhere in-between
    Posts
    10,040
    Blog Entries
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by ben4watches View Post
    How does one hard reset and are there any issues arising from this?
    If you have an iPad without a Home button, such as the 2020 iPad Pro, you need to:

    Press and quickly release the Volume Up button.
    Press and quickly release the Volume Down button.
    Then press and hold the Power button until the device restarts.

    -- no issues from a hard reset (as apposed to a Factory Reset where you loose all your settings and data)

    after that, try these:

    Try telling the iPad to forget the network in Settings by tapping the network name and selecting forget.
    Turn the iPad off and on again and then reconnect to the network and re-enter the details as necessary.
    or
    You can also try Settings > General > Reset > Reset Network Settings.

    Else - it's a phone call to Apple Support - they are very good and will also call you back or you can book a time to get you to a solution.
    Last edited by MartynJC (UK); 22nd April 2021 at 19:01.

  8. #8
    Grand Master
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Somerset (U.k )
    Posts
    11,010
    Blog Entries
    1
    Sals iPad is an old one with home button.
    Cheers,

    Ben



    ..... for I have become the Jedi of flippers


    " an extravagance is anything you buy that is of no earthly use to your wife "

  9. #9
    Grand Master MartynJC (UK)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Surrey, UK. Odiáxere or somewhere in-between
    Posts
    10,040
    Blog Entries
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by ben4watches View Post
    Sals iPad is an old one with home button.
    If you have any iPad with a Home button, such as the iPad Air, then here’s how to force restart your iPad:

    Hold down the Power button and the Home button together until the iPad turns off and reboots. You can let go when you see the Apple logo on the screen.

  10. #10
    Grand Master
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Somerset (U.k )
    Posts
    11,010
    Blog Entries
    1
    thanks Martyn, done that + reset networks and the situation remains.

    In settings it says connect to router but still no internet connection.

    Factory rest?

    Quote Originally Posted by MartynJC (UK) View Post
    If you have any iPad with a Home button, such as the iPad Air, then here’s how to force restart your iPad:

    Hold down the Power button and the Home button together until the iPad turns off and reboots. You can let go when you see the Apple logo on the screen.
    Cheers,

    Ben



    ..... for I have become the Jedi of flippers


    " an extravagance is anything you buy that is of no earthly use to your wife "

  11. #11
    If doing a factory reset make sure the iPad is backed up first.

    R
    Ignorance breeds Fear. Fear breeds Hatred. Hatred breeds Ignorance. Break the chain.

  12. #12
    Grand Master
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Somerset (U.k )
    Posts
    11,010
    Blog Entries
    1
    but how could she back it up with no internet connection, dear Ralphy, dear Ralphy...........

    That said, I reset the router and that has seemed to cure the issue, so panic over............for the time being.

    Quote Originally Posted by ralphy View Post
    If doing a factory reset make sure the iPad is backed up first.

    R
    Cheers,

    Ben



    ..... for I have become the Jedi of flippers


    " an extravagance is anything you buy that is of no earthly use to your wife "

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by ben4watches View Post
    but how could she back it up with no internet connection, dear Ralphy, dear Ralphy...........
    Cable backup to your Apple desktop/laptop, definitely. If no Apple desktop/laptop available then maybe it can done somehow to a Windows desktop/laptop?

    That said, I reset the router and that has seemed to cure the issue, so panic over............for the time being.
    R
    Ignorance breeds Fear. Fear breeds Hatred. Hatred breeds Ignorance. Break the chain.

  14. #14
    Grand Master MartynJC (UK)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Surrey, UK. Odiáxere or somewhere in-between
    Posts
    10,040
    Blog Entries
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by ben4watches View Post
    ...I reset the router and that has seemed to cure the issue, so panic over............for the time being.
    Ah - that could be it.. should have said.

    Glad its back connected

    M

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by ben4watches View Post
    but how could she back it up with no internet connection, dear Ralphy, dear Ralphy...........

    That said, I reset the router and that has seemed to cure the issue, so panic over............for the time being.
    Looks like now is the ideal time to back up then!

  16. #16
    Master
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,000
    I thought ipads back up to the cloud automatically?

  17. #17
    Grand Master JasonM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Posts
    14,468
    Quote Originally Posted by Slamdoor View Post
    I thought ipads back up to the cloud automatically?
    Only if you tell them to.
    Cheers..
    Jase

  18. #18
    Master
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Coming Straight Outer Trumpton
    Posts
    8,121
    Quote Originally Posted by Slamdoor View Post
    I thought ipads back up to the cloud automatically?
    “I thought” is one of the most painful statements associated with backups.

  19. #19
    Journeyman
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    163
    You can also back up an IPad over USB to a PC, using ITunes - no need for WIFI.

    The default, free storage in ICloud may not be enough for a backup.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Do Not Sell My Personal Information