closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Advice - any glazing, structural eng, builders able to help

Hybrid View

Advice - any glazing, structural eng, builders able to help

Morning, just looking for some help or advice for anyone her who is involved with or has experience of steel work/building and installing glazing.

I’m having a single storey extension built that has a feature of two sets of sliding doors meeting at an external corner, providing the ability to have them both open. It’s not a cantilevered fully open corner, the plan is to have a fairly slight steel corner post.

The builders arrived and looked more closely at the structural layout and calcs, and saw the steels and the steel corner post are on the internal block work. They mentioned it wasn’t normally like this. I have no experience of this so hadn’t even considered such a thing.

A bit of googling later and most sliding doors I see to seem to be fitted to the outside brickwork. Now I guess I could still fit the windows to the outside brickwork but I don’t see how I’d be able to work the door handles because they’d essentially be hidden behind the vertical steel post that’s on the inside blockwork in that corner.

If the windows are fitted beneath the steels on the inner course, the blockwork cavity would be outside so would somehow have to be sealed up without causing thermal bridging and damp issues. So I don’t see how that would work.

Is there anyone that has experience or is in the trade and could share some wisdom here before the builders arrive on Monday?

Thanks

In my experience, I’d put significantly more weight on the views of a solid, experienced builder if they diverged from that of the engineering firm - at the very least relay the concerns to the engineers and ask for fresh eyes to double check the layout and calcs.