closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Do chronometers have a 'settling in' period?

Journeyman

Do chronometers have a 'settling in' period?

Hey All,

Happy Friday :)

I've heard and read about how automatic watches have a 'settling in period' although I know that's a point of debate.

Are chronometer-rated watches any different in that regard? Since the movement has undergone further adjustments and tests to obtain COSC certification, would that indicate that the way they run when brand new is how they always will? If you purchased a chronometer and it ran +15 spd out of the box would that be an indication that there might be an issue with the movement?

Cheers!

Happy Friday! I'm still learning about movements and timekeeping but I can say with some confidence that +15 per day for a COSC movement is not acceptable and suggests it needs to be regulated properly. I recently purchased an Onega with Metas certification that Omega refer to as Master Chronometer. My understanding is that these movements undertake significant testing before they are allowed to go on sale. I'm not sure about other brands but for these Metas Omega watches at least, there shouldn't be a running in period.

If I bought a chronometer that was running +15spd it would go straight back for regulation.

Grand Master
    This old chestnut keeps rearing its head. OP is either asking a general question out if interest or is concerned about a watch he’s bought, he doesn’t say which.

In my experience, a freshly serviced watch can take around one week to produce consistent rate figures, but the change is usually small (around 3-4 secs/ day) and they don’t change by 15 secs. Precision won’t change, if the positional variation is poor it’ll stay poor. After several days running the rate won’t change significantly. I would expect a new watch to settle quicker than an older movement with more wear, that’s what I’ve seen.