closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Non payment of garage rent

Non payment of garage rent

** EDIT: This matter has now been resolved. **

I have been renting my garage (which is in a block) for many years, without an issue. I had a new tenant take it on at the beginnig of Sept, he paid me deposit, but forgot the month's rent in advance, I text him, he immediately replied and paid.

Begining of Oct, no rent, I gave him a number of days, then text... no reply... then email... 4 days later a reply apologising and stating that he would pay later that day... that was 4 days ago. I have sent one polite email, tried calling (got through, bad line, then cut off, no call back, - so I text again).

It's not looking good. A bit of communication wouldn't hurt. Any thoughts on what my way forward should be here? I am thinking to give him until the end of the month, then give him a week's notice to vacate the garage for non payment of rent?

If he doesn't move out - what can/shall I do with his stuff?

We have a contract which he agreed to.

Never been in this situation before, - would appreciate any advice - thanks.
    Last edited by PJdB; 16th November 2020 at 17:51.

I'd give a bit more time for comms before doing anything drastic. Stuff happens, there may be a reasonable explanation.

For rental houses/flats you need to go to court to get someone evicted, you can't just chuck their stuff out. Not sure if that would apply with a garage though, given it's not a home.

Grand Master
    Blog Entries
    Just a thought and no idea of its legal.

Give him another week to pay and he does not come up with the rent, change the locks but leave possessions inside. When he tries to open the garage and finds his key no longer works he has no choice but to contact you.

When he does you can furnish him with the new key on payment of the rent or failing that offer to let him have his stuff back and say goodbye to him.