closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Eyesight - Banding

Eyesight - Banding

Some of the websites if read use white text on a black background. After reading text on these for a while, I return to what I call a normal site, i.e. black text on a white background, I get what I can best describe as banding in my vision, narrow dark lines. This goes on for some minutes.

I have been wearing specs for the last 30 years, the last ten in varifocals.

Is this a cause for concern?

Master
    What does your optician say?

Master
    Blog Entries
    Maybe a form of afterimage effect?

Sent from my moto e5 play using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by ach5 View Post
    What does your optician say?
    I am trying to avoid them unless I have to!

Craftsman
    Might be the way the eye is made up in the retina with rods and cones, used to be a colour copier engineer and on a training course we had some really cool stuff to look at and when stared at for a period of time and then immediately look at something else, you would see some strange effects until the eyes became accustomed to normal.

Thanks a lot for the answers.

This thread needs David L

Master
    You rang?
    It does sound like afterimages so no need for concern.
    If you look at anything vaguely bright and look away at a duller, plain background you will be able to see, quite clearly, the initial image, sometimes for a surprisingly long time. It does fade gradually.
    It's a cones thing, not really rods as in any "normal" lighting situation they are bleached completely.