closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Medical advice

Craftsman

Medical advice

I was hoping if any medical people on here can give me a simple answer ,I have tried Google and can't get a clear answer .My friend closely monitors his health ,he uses a pulse oximeter and peak flow meter ,I tried them out over the last few days ,my blood oxygen level and pulse are totally fine ,however using the peak flow meter my breath level was well below the norm for my size and age ,Iam just over 6 feet and 50 years old and should according to chart be reaching around 650 -700 Iam averaging around 400 ,I have no diagnosis of asthma but are not very fit and a couple of stone overweight ,should I be worried about my meter readings and what should I do about it ,particularly during these times ,

Sent from my moto g(8) power using TZ-UK mobile app

I'm no doctor but am subject to peak flow measurement as part of my job annually. Unless you suffer from asthmatic symptoms, I wouldn't worry. Peak flow follows a bell distribution for the population. You might just have lower peak flow than average. Sounds like you know what you need to do about fitness and weight anyway.

Blog Entries
    Go and see a doctor. I’m not joking. You may have mild COPD.
    Or you may not but if you see a doctor you will know.
    A watch forum isn’t the place to find out.

To an extent peak flow can be a skill. I do one as part of an annual medical (often having more than one go) and it's definitely possible to improve your 'score'.

I'd echo the advice above not to seek medical advice on a watch forum but not necessarily the advice to see a doctor based on a these readings. If you're overweight and unfit (and not alone there), sort those out and then, if you have any real-world symptoms of breathlessness, go and see a doctor.