closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Web site advice, images etc.

Master

Web site advice, images etc.

I'm putting an information web site together, (not watch related), can I use images that I find on the web and links to utube videos or is this breaching some kind of copyright

I would not expect it will get many views

I think it's fine if it's a personal interest site, but not for a commercial one.

I'm not a lawyer, though, and my comment is based on observations rather than law.

I think in reality, you cannot use any image that you don't have the copyright for, but few organisations will pursue an individual for a non commercial use.

If you're promoting a business or selling something, you are liable to find yourself receiving letters to remove the images, at least.

M

Sent from my ASUS_X00PD using Tapatalk
    Breitling Cosmonaute 809 - What's not to like?

I wouldn't see a problem linking or embedding a YouTube video as that clearly keeps the link and credit to the originator.

Pictures... Well, a small site, nobody's going to notice but just because an image shows up in google image searches doesn't mean it's free to reuse without permission.

Consider spending just a few pounds on a few credits with Shutterstock. About £25 will get you half a dozen top quality, royalty free images. They'll look great and you'll never have an issue.

Quote Originally Posted by snowman View Post
    I think it's fine if it's a personal interest site, but not for a commercial one.
    No it's not ok to use other people's content for your own website, commercial or not. If it's news credit the creator, if it's educational reference the creator. All imagery is copyright to the original creator, and using it on your website will be in breach of copyright laws.

You can seek permission, create your own, or buy licensed or royalty free images, or use images from websites such as Pexels or Unsplash.

Master
    Thanks Guys