closing tag is in template navbar
Time Factors Watches



TZ-UK Fundraiser
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Viewing forum on Microsoft Edge

  1. #1

    Viewing forum on Microsoft Edge

    I know nothing about web browsers so bear with me. When I'm viewing this forum on PC on Microsoft Edge. I can never access the top two threads on any forum. It doesn't allow me to click through. Third down and below is fine but not the top two.

    Anyone any idea why and what the solution might be? (other than switching browsers)

  2. #2
    Are you using Edge Chromium or the original version of Edge? Iíve not noticed any issue with the latest version of Edge Chromium.

  3. #3
    Master Skier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cheltenham, UK
    Posts
    2,222
    I'm using MS Edge (ChrEdge) and am not seeing the issue you describe. As above, if you're on the older version of edge install the latest, it's actually very good.

  4. #4
    Yes, using the chromium edge. Bit of a mystery then.

  5. #5
    Grand Master Saint-Just's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ashford, Kent
    Posts
    21,278
    Why use that browser? Any specific reason?
    'Against stupidity, the gods themselves struggle in vain' - Schiller.

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Saint-Just View Post
    Why use that browser? Any specific reason?
    Edge Chromium is a great browser. Itís faster and less intrusive than Chrome and uses the same extensions.

  7. #7
    Grand Master Saint-Just's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ashford, Kent
    Posts
    21,278
    I haven't explored ( ) Edge Chromium but the previous instances were rather poor and very few websites even bothered to optimise for them.
    Compatibility issues is probably to be ruled out here as others do not have the problem. As to less intrusive... Than Chrome, yes, easy to do, but Microsoft is no angel either.
    'Against stupidity, the gods themselves struggle in vain' - Schiller.

  8. #8
    Master vagabond's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Here and There....
    Posts
    4,904
    I have the same issue in Chrome - usually if a thread is "busy" and at the top of the forum, I won't be able to click it i.e. it's not a link. 3rd or 4th onwards seem ok.

    If there haven't been any updates then the thread is clickable, even if it's at the top.

    Very strange, as I never have an issue viewing the forum on my Android phone via the web.

  9. #9
    Journeyman Halitosis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    West Lothian
    Posts
    181

    Viewing forum on Microsoft Edge

    Quote Originally Posted by Jdh1 View Post
    I know nothing about web browsers so bear with me. When I'm viewing this forum on PC on Microsoft Edge. I can never access the top two threads on any forum. It doesn't allow me to click through. Third down and below is fine but not the top two.

    Anyone any idea why and what the solution might be? (other than switching browsers)
    I suffer exactly the same issue, and use Edge - I have to catch up with those top two threads at a later date when they drop down the list


    Sent from my iPhone using TZ-UK mobile app

  10. #10
    Journeyman
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    North of LDN
    Posts
    153
    Quote Originally Posted by vagabond View Post
    I have the same issue in Chrome - usually if a thread is "busy" and at the top of the forum, I won't be able to click it i.e. it's not a link. 3rd or 4th onwards seem ok.

    If there haven't been any updates then the thread is clickable, even if it's at the top.

    Very strange, as I never have an issue viewing the forum on my Android phone via the web.

    I use the site with javascript disabled to get round all these bugs

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Dakuan View Post
    I use the site with javascript disabled to get round all these bugs
    Excuse my ignorance (which is extensive) but how do you do that?

  12. #12
    Journeyman sickie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    447
    Quote Originally Posted by Jdh1 View Post
    Excuse my ignorance (which is extensive) but how do you do that?
    You can get an add on from Add-ons store.
    Just click tab that looks like (....) then click extensions and search for java script and choose one. The first or second one look easy enough to use.

    Probably the second one JavaScript Toggle on and Off would be all you need because you don't want to turn it off permanently as it can effect many other site's. So just when you need it turn it on.

    Sent from my SM-N960F using TZ-UK mobile app
    Last edited by sickie; 28th September 2020 at 10:59.

  13. #13
    Grand Master Saint-Just's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ashford, Kent
    Posts
    21,278
    Not sure for MS Edge but disabling Javascript is usually in your Security preferences
    'Against stupidity, the gods themselves struggle in vain' - Schiller.

  14. #14
    I had the same problem. Went to settings. Privacy. Search and services. Put tracking onto strict. Seemed to do the job

  15. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by sickie View Post
    You can get an add on from Add-ons store.
    Just click tab that looks like (....) then click extensions and search for java script and choose one. The first or second one look easy enough to use.

    Probably the second one JavaScript Toggle on and Off would be all you need because you don't want to turn it off permanently as it can effect many other site's. So just when you need it turn it on.

    Sent from my SM-N960F using TZ-UK mobile app
    That worked thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Do Not Sell My Personal Information