closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Buying a car for me mam... clueless.

Master

Buying a car for me mam... clueless.

Gents,

My poor old mum is currently without a car, and I've offered to get her one. However I've no knowledge at all on the things, so am hopeful that one (or more) of you might be able to offer a bit of advice!

Top priorities are that it's reliable and low maintenance, and won't need a repair for a little while. We're looking at post-2010, automatic, and sub-40k miles if possible.

Budget is £4-6k. Is that realistic? And if so, what should I be looking at?

Very grateful indeed for any advice!

I have no idea if your Mum should be included in my sweeping generalisation but all the old dodderers round here drive either Honda Civic or Toyota Yaris

Master
    Blog Entries
    Until c19 arrived I was parked in a dodgy train station multi storey half the week so bought a 2015 Kia Rio at a dealer for 5k last spring. It’s absolutely spot on for the money and they do autos.

Anyone rinsing modern Kia’s hasn’t been in one. It’s not Germanic soft touch plastic but the polo I had before it was a pile of rubbish in terms of reliability.

I would be looking at something like the vehicle in the below link at that price range but you cannot go wrong with most Japanese vehicles for reliability.

A friend just purchased a Toyota Yaris although she went for a Hybrid and absolutely loves it.

https://usedcars.toyota.co.uk/en/use...t-5-Dr-vdcdjr2
    Last edited by boring_sandwich; 3rd September 2020 at 06:28.

Blog Entries
    Honda Jazz; various models since 2010, including hybrids. All equally well-built. You can't go wrong.

M.

Master
    Blog Entries
    I would be looking for a VW UP, Skoda Citi go or a Seat Mii. All the same car.