closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Car Allowance conundrum

Car Allowance conundrum

I have got myself in a right royal tangle and can’t see the wood for the trees. I’ve been a company car driver for the last 5 years but after accepting a new job I am destined to lose that luxury and a car allowance awaits.

Currently drive a 530e which, whilst is very nice, I’m not overly fussed with. It was a tax efficient vehicle and I won’t be sorry to see it go.

So now to the conundrum, I will receive £8k car allowance and 33p per mile which is very generous. I expect to do c. 15k miles per annum and have been looking at new pcp and lease deals. I thought that I had settled on a new Skoda Kodiak sportline in 2.0 Diesel DSG variety. £500 down and £408 p/m.

I can’t however shake the feeling that it’s a massive waste of money though. I can get a Skoda Kamiq on a 2 year lease for £240 a month. It’s not the same sportline spec as the Kodiak but it’s a not poverty spec either, plenty of toys and a massive £170 a month less.

I know I’m not comparing apples with apples but I have torn myself inside out trying to decide what I want to do.

Then there’s the whole 2-3 yr old low mileage vehicles which I could purchase and do away with the whole pcp/ depreciation mess.

What would you guys do?

Why not consider something like a 2-3 year old used approved with 24 months warranty. Should be easily affordable and your choice of cars and should be higher spec etc.
    It's just a matter of time...

Master