closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Flat purchase advice

Craftsman

Flat purchase advice

I’m hoping the great and the good on here can give me the benefit of their knowledge.

We are looking at flats for our daughter who is keen to get her own place and have found that they all seem to be leasehold which I have no experience with.

We have found a nice One bedroom flat with 74 years remaining of the 99 year lease and I don’t think this will be an issue as I guess that she will only be there for a few years (she’s 26 and single), to me this seems ok as she will have presumably sold it on in maybe 5 years max. However the agent made a bit of a point telling us that the flat is priced low to account for the renewal of the lease in the next few years.

My question is, at what point during a 99 year lease does the remaining years start to affect the value of the property.

Additionally, is there anything else we should be aware of when getting into a leasehold situation in a block of 4 flats?

Thanks in advance..

Craftsman
    The shorter lease will make the property harder to sell as it will put a lot of people off, it also impacts the price as you've already alluded to. Extending an existing lease can be very costly.

Ony other thing to consider with a leasehold is there will most likely be a service charge in addition to the mortgage payment which can vary considerably.

Master
    who owns the Freehold?

my daughter bought a flat and Wandsworth Council owned the Freehold - they were a pain when it came to alterations and repairs

I would never buy another Leasehold flat unless it included a share of the Freehold, and even then I'd think twice - just MY view
    Last edited by BillN; 19th March 2020 at 22:37.

Do you know (or can you find out):

1. Who owns the freehold?