closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Working from home tips

Master

Working from home tips

This isn't my list - I copied it from another forum I belong to but I've been working from home for 10 years and agree with most of these.

• Shower every day
    • Put on real clothes
    • Get out of the house at least once a day
    • Have a routine and revel in it
    • Get started early and as much off your plate as you can, but still take breaks
    • You can work for 90 mins and take a 30 min break and that’s totally fine now as you control your timeline, of course scheduling will force this to be flexible
    • Use the time you save from the commute for well being
    • Work out, meditate, whatever it is add it to the routine
    • Cook more! One of the huge advantages is how much healthier and better you can eat now and you can prep or plan meals the day before to really maximize the time
    • Don’t let friends distract you much, unless it’s lunch breaks
    • Don’t leave tasks for the last minute, I fall victim to this and it causes undue stress
    • Build a killer workspace, something you enjoy sitting down to
    • Keep it tidy! Easy to get distracted when it gets messy
    • I also recommend a decompression toy of some sort for your desk, something to flip in your hand when pondering, bored, video conferencing, etc. - fidget spinners are the entry toy for this, try an infinity or fidget cube for something more tangible
    • Keep a master list of todo’s, separate your professional and home ones but tackle them both
    • Ensure you have a professional line of sight for your webcam for video-conferencing
    • Also make sure that your workspace is quiet for those meetings and aren’t going to have a lot of feedback or noise that draws your mic on a lot
    • Best to keep the workspace out of the bedroom, bed in view is never good for perception as being a place to work