closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Garage ceiling plasterboard and insulation

Craftsman

Garage ceiling plasterboard and insulation

Hi all. I'm looking at plaster-boarding and basic insulating of the garage ceiling this weekend. Room is as follows:
    Dimensions = 5.8m * 5.3m
    Use = Parking and work on two cars
    Note: ceiling is a pitched roof (570mm spaced horizontal rafters) with tiles

Don't want to spend a fortune so will the following suffice please:
    - https://www.wickes.co.uk/Knauf-Plast...-2-4m/p/220207
    - https://www.wickes.co.uk//Earthwool-...aign=SaleCycle

Some question please:
    1) - Is 9.5mm plaster-board OK or should I use 12.5mm
    2) - Will that acoustic Earthwool offer basic insulation or am I better off with something like this - https://www.insulation4less.co.uk/rwa45-50mm

I have another thread on dot & dab but makes sense to keep this separate.

Craftsman
    I'm no expert, but aren't there building regs that need to be complied with, something to do with the fire rating if you create a garage ceiling? In our previous house with an integral garage I'm sure there were some restrictions on materials that could be used. Possibly not applicable to a detached garage. But I might be way off beam!

Craftsman
    Quote Originally Posted by gary1064 View Post
    I'm no expert, but aren't there building regs that need to be complied with, something to do with the fire rating if you create a garage ceiling? In our previous house with an integral garage I'm sure there were some restrictions on materials that could be used. Possibly not applicable to a detached garage. But I might be way off beam!
    Thanks for this.

For clarity, the double-garage is attached to the house (lounge) but has nothing above it.

Master
    Blog Entries
    Building regs for my sons garage was ,two layers of 15mm pb,intumescent mastic the joints and edges.

Craftsman