closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches



TZ-UK Fundraiser
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 51 to 77 of 77

Thread: Techy-nerdy stuff

  1. #51
    Master Alansmithee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Burscough, UK
    Posts
    7,292
    I'm looking to upgrade my monitor set-up and I am thinking of going Ultra-wide - this is for work and video editing - I do not game.

    Any recommendations or thought? Do not want to spend more than £500.

  2. #52
    Master
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    3,985
    cant help but keen to understand if having an ultra wide screen could replace my two 24" monitors? presume it could but worried im missing something

    it would be a lot neater thats for sure.

  3. #53
    Master Alansmithee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Burscough, UK
    Posts
    7,292
    Quote Originally Posted by cyrusir View Post
    cant help but keen to understand if having an ultra wide screen could replace my two 24" monitors? presume it could but worried im missing something

    it would be a lot neater thats for sure.

    Basically yes - so if you go 34" you are at the same height as 27" normal and I think 28" is the same high as 24".


    In my set-up below - I was thinking of having the ultra-wide replace the two monitor on the right - the monitor on the right would move over and became a portrait screen for documents, the 1440p monitor on the left would move over to the left desk and become part of a dock set-up (you can see the USB-C dock just about...)

    Last edited by Alansmithee; 30th April 2020 at 11:41.

  4. #54
    Grand Master Carlton-Browne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Berlin, London and sometimes Dublin
    Posts
    12,698
    I've been through the process of looking at monitors and did examine the ultra-wide option as I've finally made the shift to working with two monitors. Given that I work with a fair number of apps and windows open I don't really understand how I would automatically tile windows in the same way as maximising them within the respective monitors works at present. The other reason for looking at ultra wide was that, once I hopefully spend more time in the office, the monitor will give SWMBO an upgrade and her oldish macbook can only support one external monitor; ultra-wide would give her more screenspace though I have no idea how the whole tiling thing would work on Macs (and given their typically woeful approach to maximising windows anyway).

    I'd say if you have a docking option to support it, I'd stick with multiple normal size.

    My new monitor should be here today!
    Die Zeit verwandelt uns nicht, sie entfaltet uns nur.

  5. #55
    Quote Originally Posted by Carlton-Browne View Post
    I've been through the process of looking at monitors and did examine the ultra-wide option as I've finally made the shift to working with two monitors. Given that I work with a fair number of apps and windows open I don't really understand how I would automatically tile windows in the same way as maximising them within the respective monitors works at present. The other reason for looking at ultra wide was that, once I hopefully spend more time in the office, the monitor will give SWMBO an upgrade and her oldish macbook can only support one external monitor; ultra-wide would give her more screenspace though I have no idea how the whole tiling thing would work on Macs (and given their typically woeful approach to maximising windows anyway).

    I'd say if you have a docking option to support it, I'd stick with multiple normal size.

    My new monitor should be here today!
    There are quite a few programmes that are designed for this - WinSplit is one I've seen recommended before, but there's a lot of them around (https://www.geckoandfly.com/26633/sp...windows-macos/)

  6. #56
    Master Alansmithee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Burscough, UK
    Posts
    7,292
    Quote Originally Posted by Carlton-Browne View Post
    I've been through the process of looking at monitors and did examine the ultra-wide option as I've finally made the shift to working with two monitors. Given that I work with a fair number of apps and windows open I don't really understand how I would automatically tile windows in the same way as maximising them within the respective monitors works at present.
    Never used a Mac - Windows has a native 'snap' function that is easy to control.


    I'd say if you have a docking option to support it, I'd stick with multiple normal size.
    Yes - the left hand desk is where a laptop would be used so I'd have a monitor on a arm so that when not used, it's a clear desk..

  7. #57
    Might be worth looking at this. Not the be all and end of but a very good site I use as a first port of call to get an idea from.

    https://thewirecutter.com/reviews/be...wide-monitors/

  8. #58
    Master
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Coming Straight Outer Trumpton
    Posts
    7,489
    Quote Originally Posted by Carlton-Browne View Post
    I've been through the process of looking at monitors and did examine the ultra-wide option as I've finally made the shift to working with two monitors. Given that I work with a fair number of apps and windows open I don't really understand how I would automatically tile windows in the same way as maximising them within the respective monitors works at present. The other reason for looking at ultra wide was that, once I hopefully spend more time in the office, the monitor will give SWMBO an upgrade and her oldish macbook can only support one external monitor; ultra-wide would give her more screenspace though I have no idea how the whole tiling thing would work on Macs (and given their typically woeful approach to maximising windows anyway).

    I'd say if you have a docking option to support it, I'd stick with multiple normal size.

    My new monitor should be here today!
    You might find that the older Mac can only output a 1080p resolution, I looked a while back and my 2013 mbp is limited to a single second screen at that resolution. If so I’d be interested in your results using an ultra wide at that res.

  9. #59
    Not sure if people know this but if using Windows 10 the it’s really easy way to arrange windows on an ultra wide or normal size monitor. If you want two windows open side by side then select one window and click “start + left or right arrow button” The window will slide to chosen half of the screen, double click the other window and will fill the other side of the screen, up and down arrows do the same.

    Hope that is clear?

  10. #60
    Grand Master Carlton-Browne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Berlin, London and sometimes Dublin
    Posts
    12,698
    Quote Originally Posted by Alansmithee View Post
    Never used a Mac - Windows has a native 'snap' function that is easy to control.
    Thanks - with a bit of practice I've just managed to get Windows snap working but, at least for my own use, I think I'll stick with two monitors.

    Quote Originally Posted by Captain Morgan View Post
    You might find that the older Mac can only output a 1080p resolution, I looked a while back and my 2013 mbp is limited to a single second screen at that resolution. If so I’d be interested in your results using an ultra wide at that res.
    I've checked and it would seem that hers will output to 2560 - however the linked review from wileeeeeey above has this:

    Resolution: Unless you’re using your monitor exclusively for gaming or movie watching, an ultrawide should have a resolution of 3440×1440 or higher. The text on every 2560×1080 ultrawide we tested was pixelated and hard to read, and the lower resolution negates the extra screen space that makes an ultrawide appealing. 4K- and 5K-equivalent ultrawide monitors aren’t widely available yet.
    SWMBO needs to have two documents open next to each other so it doesn't sound like Ultrawide will be a solution. In any case we'll hitch up the 4k 27" monitor (when it arrives!) and see what it looks like. I'm not optimistic and I suspect she's going to need a new PC at some stage.
    Die Zeit verwandelt uns nicht, sie entfaltet uns nur.

  11. #61
    Master
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Coming Straight Outer Trumpton
    Posts
    7,489
    Quote Originally Posted by Carlton-Browne View Post
    Thanks - with a bit of practice I've just managed to get Windows snap working but, at least for my own use, I think I'll stick with two monitors.



    I've checked and it would seem that hers will output to 2560 - however the linked review from wileeeeeey above has this:



    SWMBO needs to have two documents open next to each other so it doesn't sound like Ultrawide will be a solution. In any case we'll hitch up the 4k 27" monitor (when it arrives!) and see what it looks like. I'm not optimistic and I suspect she's going to need a new PC at some stage.
    Some digging around suggest you can get close, but only with 30fps refresh rate which might be acceptable for documents.

    Then there’s some hoo-doo about using twin display port connections and I lost the will...

    Said hoo-doo: https://blog.fosketts.net/2015/11/09...a-macbook-pro/

    That said if its a late 2013 / 2014 you should be good.
    Last edited by Captain Morgan; 30th April 2020 at 19:50. Reason: I said hoo-doo Dang it

  12. #62
    In October I got a monitor that would allow me to have two a4 documents open side by side. It was a 26" 1920 x 1200 (16:10, which is important) Iiyama ProLite E2607WSD. Even with my old eyes, it works fine, and was £65 (2nd hand).

    Best wishes,
    Bob

  13. #63
    Grand Master Carlton-Browne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Berlin, London and sometimes Dublin
    Posts
    12,698
    Quote Originally Posted by Captain Morgan View Post
    That said if its a late 2013 / 2014 you should be good.
    It's a year or two earlier than that .
    Die Zeit verwandelt uns nicht, sie entfaltet uns nur.

  14. #64
    Go Super Ultrawide (49")


  15. #65
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    337
    I hadn't noticed this thread before, but having read up on Pi-Hole, I will be giving that a go.

    I have a few Pi's about doing jobs. Nothing as constructive as you guys though. Historically, they ran Sickbeard and Sab, but run other newer versions of them now.

  16. #66
    Master mindforge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    3,162
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingstepper View Post
    Go Super Ultrawide (49")

    Thy does look incredible. What kind of graphics card would you need do that? I only have a Dell XPS 15 at home, plugged into a 32 inch wide screen, as it couldn't handle a 4k or an ultra wide screen.

  17. #67
    Journeyman
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Central Scotland
    Posts
    156
    Just found this thread also, yes running pi-hole here on a pi, its brilliant and very easy to use and tweak.

  18. #68
    Grand Master Carlton-Browne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Berlin, London and sometimes Dublin
    Posts
    12,698
    The monitor arrived at the beginning of the week and I really like it - I have the new Philips 4k as main monitor with an Iiyama 24" (borrowed from the office) as the 2nd one. My work Lenovo laptop and oldish personal laptop work at 4k nicely enough on the Philips although I can feel that not having dedicated memory has a slight hit on performance load - I'm not doing anything that suffers as a result so I'm happy. SWMBO's Macbook outputs at 1920 x 1080 as a maximum resolution and she's worked out how to have snap two applications/documents onto it - I think I would want more screen estate but we'll see how she copes. The resolution is fine for document work though obviously not as sharp if it were working at 4k. I think, if I were her, Ultrawide might be the best option but I'll let her continue to test when I don't need the second screen (I'm currently trying to do one day in the office a week).
    Die Zeit verwandelt uns nicht, sie entfaltet uns nur.

  19. #69
    Master Skier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cheltenham, UK
    Posts
    2,120
    I recently replaced 2 x Dell Ultra Sharp 27" monitors with the Samsung C49RG90SSU; it was a bit of an indulgence. I have it connected to my desktop with the facility to connect various laptops via USB-C/HDMI --> HDMI Switch --> Monitor. The laptops can't make use of the full screen resolution but that's not why I bought it (I'm not a gamer). Stunning monitor.

    Last edited by Skier; 10th May 2020 at 09:16.

  20. #70
    Gosh, that is impressive!

    Best wishes,
    Bob

  21. #71
    Master Alansmithee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Burscough, UK
    Posts
    7,292
    Who knew it would be so hard to get decent webcams and keyboards this far into lockdown?

    Pretty much everything I would consider is out of stock everywhere...
    Last edited by Alansmithee; 23rd May 2020 at 21:59.

  22. #72
    Quote Originally Posted by Alansmithee View Post
    Who knew it would be so hard to get decent webcams and keyboards this far into lockdown?

    Pretty much everything I would consider is out of stock everywhere...
    My sympathies!

    I had trouble finding hair clippers. I finally got something that works, and, best of all, for which they have guides going up to 48mm, which is what I wanted. It is a "Beast Clipper" from Skullshaver.eu. Just thinking about the name makes me feel more manly! :)

    Best wishes,
    Bob

    At the same time, we've bought some nice 4 ply linen designer facemasks online from a women's clothing store. So, I'm feeling reasonably conflicted. :)

    The masks are mostly for the piece of mind of others. They are more efficacious with respect to outgoing than incoming.

    RLF
    Last edited by rfrazier; 24th May 2020 at 11:08. Reason: Additional comment.

  23. #73
    Quote Originally Posted by Alansmithee View Post
    Who knew it would be so hard to get decent webcams and keyboards this far into lockdown?

    Pretty much everything I would consider is out of stock everywhere...
    I've just bought a webcam from Novatech. The annoying this is I have a Microsoft webcam that works on Linux but not on Windows 10 - no driver available for Win 10! Unfortunately I had to have one for use on Win 10.

  24. #74
    Grand Master Carlton-Browne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Berlin, London and sometimes Dublin
    Posts
    12,698
    Quote Originally Posted by Alansmithee View Post
    Who knew it would be so hard to get decent webcams and keyboards this far into lockdown?

    Pretty much everything I would consider is out of stock everywhere...
    I'm quite lucky that I already had what I needed. We bought one of these to try out in the office a while ago and I've become a recent adopter (although I use a headset so am only using the camera). I tend to position it in front of my 2nd monitor so that I get as near as possible to making eye contact.

    Die Zeit verwandelt uns nicht, sie entfaltet uns nur.

  25. #75
    Master Alansmithee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Burscough, UK
    Posts
    7,292
    Quote Originally Posted by Carlton-Browne View Post
    I'm quite lucky that I already had what I needed. We bought one of these to try out in the office a while ago and I've become a recent adopter (although I use a headset so am only using the camera). I tend to position it in front of my 2nd monitor so that I get as near as possible to making eye contact.

    So I've always had two desks in the home office - the one already has a decent webcam but equipping the second is more tricky at the moment because there are now two of using the office on a full-time basis until September - my Lenovo C940 webcam is pretty good but I'd like a decent stand-alone...

  26. #76
    Master Alansmithee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Burscough, UK
    Posts
    7,292
    What is the maximum you can realistically expect for speed over wifi?

    I am upgrading to a 910mb connection and although the main machine will be hardwired, not all the clients will - even on high-end kit, I'm likely to top out at 500mb(ish)?

  27. #77
    Master
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Maidenhead-ish UK
    Posts
    1,133
    Quote Originally Posted by Alansmithee View Post
    What is the maximum you can realistically expect for speed over wifi?
    Here's a coupleof pages which suggest that the actual speed is considerably lower thna the link speed:
    https://www.speedguide.net/faq/what-...f-wireless-374
    https://www.lifewire.com/how-fast-is...network-816543

    It depends on several factors including what standard of connection you have & how many clients are using it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Do Not Sell My Personal Information