closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Chrono24 valuation accuracy

Chrono24 valuation accuracy

I am, it must be said, a lucky boy.

I haven’t bought any watches of note for a number of years, for various reasons, but when i was actively buying i did amass a nice collection of Seiko, Omega and Rolex, amongst others.

Recently, I popped a number of my watches onto the “My Collection” section on Chrono24 and have been surprised by the value they ascribe to my watches - my 1968 5513 and 1968 1675 are both valued at 5 figures, my 1964 and 1968 Seamaster 300’s are surprisingly expensive too.

I’d like to use Chrono24 to support any insurance claim which may come about in the future. I am a nerd by profession, so have a database containing purchase details and pictures/serial numbers of all of my “high value” watches, but the current value feature of Chrono24 could be of interest also.

Are the values pie-in-the-sky wishful thinking, or are they based on something a little more solid?

Thank you

Richard

I don’t think that an insurance company would accept a Chrono24 valuation for a claim. There are too many variations with vintage watches for a generic valuation to work. (ie one 5513 can be worth 3 to 4 times another, dependent upon condition, originality, extras etc etc).

You best bet would be to take your watches to a jeweller/AD and get them professionally valued. And yep, the GMT and Sub are probably currently worth £10-12k+, much more if you’ve got the original warranty papers for them.
    Last edited by Bravo73; 13th January 2020 at 10:35.