closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Kids, cars, flood water & you guessed it! Any mechanics in the house?

Kids, cars, flood water & you guessed it! Any mechanics in the house?

OK, son managed to drive through flood water on Friday and I’m guessing it’s done something but I’m not a mechanic, it’ll be in the garage Monday but just wondering if anyone has an informed view on problem.

Car is a 2010 1.2 Vauxhall Corsa petrol

It went through the flood 12-18” water on Friday morning.
    Friday night a warning light came on (Yellow car with spanner) that indicates “engine/transmission, electrics” warning (which seems to cover everything but zombies)

Car still drives but loses power on hills and has very little when pulling away.

I’ve had done following.
    Lifted bonnet and had a listen to engine at idle - all sounded good no misfire or odd out of sync sound. (Lol)
    Took air filter out, it was bone dry.

From my very limited and not a clue knowledge I have decided it’s water in electrics somewhere, if I leave it will it just dry out on its own?

Or will leaving it cause more damage?

As I say, it’ll go to garage Monday but as will all things I keep trying to fix it in my mind now.

Any thoughts anyone?

It really could be - anything.

Do a google search on car type and the problem "water deluge/water spray/flooded" etc - see if anything pops up from a model-specific forum?

Craftsman
    You're really lucky that you didn't hydrolock the engine, as that would have destroyed it. The fact that the engine still runs and sounds smooth on tick over rules out water having got sucked up via the air intake.
    Electronics and water don't mix, and it sounds like some sensors got a good soaking which didn't respond well to that.
    Good luck with getting it sorted.

The loss of power is probably the car going into limp home mode rather than being a symptom of the issue.b
    As said, it could be anything.