closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Accoustic guitar choices

Accoustic guitar choices

I'm going to treat myself to new acoustic guitar in the near future – I've been playing the same Fender Newporter for 30 years and fancy a change.

I'm looking at spending £500ish. I could go higher for the right guitar and could always go lower.

So far I like the look of these three:

Guild DS-140 Memoir

Sigma DM-SG5

And for a few £££s more, the Guild D-140 Westerly. This one is solid sides and back rather than the laminate construction of the above two.

And I know it sounds shallow, but I am drawn to a sunburst finish although could be swayed away for the right guitar.

I was also looking at the Taylor Academy 10, but lack of pickguard puts me off a bit:

Would any experts care to share thoughts and experience on these or any others within the price range? Ta in advance

For the sort of price range you have I would look at Faith guitars.

Very nice quality although many of them are sans scratch plates.
    Cheers,
    Neil.

Master
    Lesser know brand but Farida make some great guitars in your price range.

wouldn't a Taylor Big Baby suit your requirements, its in budget and has a scratch guard

Quote Originally Posted by adrianw View Post
    wouldn't a Taylor Big Baby suit your requirements, its in budget and has a scratch guard
    I did look at the Big Baby but the size might be an issue. I'll be seeking out a proper guitar shop to try them all first hopefully.

Put a guard on it, can’t see the issue.

Acoustic guitars are not like iPhones. Two identical acoustics made on the same day in the same factory by the same guy can be as different in character as the trees they were made from. My advice is go to a shop and play every guitar they have. If the one you want is there, you'll know it. Buy that specific guitar and no other. If you don't find it, go to another shop.