closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Where to buy a used car ?

Craftsman

Where to buy a used car ?

I’m Looking to buy a used car from a private seller but it seems as though most of the sites that I used to use for this - autotrader, etc- are now dominated by trade sellers
    Anyone have any suggestions to other places to look ?
    Thanks

Master
    Blog Entries
    The Autotrader is still the go to for used cars. Facebook market place isn't too bad either (as a buyer). If it's a niche car, pistonheads is also worth a look.

Out of interest, why the insistence on a private seller?

- - - Updated - - -

The Autotrader is still the go to for used cars. Facebook market place isn't too bad either (as a buyer). If it's a niche car, pistonheads is also worth a look.

Gumtree, eBay and Facebook Marketplace seem to be the favoured haunts of private sellers these days.

Craftsman
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave O'Sullivan View Post

I would guess cost? Although I would be careful especially at the cheaper end of the market if a car had underlying faults that aren’t immediately obvious at purchase.

Atleast if you buy from a garage you have some recourse (for a limited time) if things go wrong.

I say this because my partner recently bought a 2011 cheap seat and after a week the timing belt snapped. The garage footed the bill which I think was somewhere in the region of half the cost of the car.

Craftsman
    Autotrader, just select private seller in the options. And do due diligence! I've bought and sold a good handful of cars over the last couple of years and looked in the usual places. Without fail, Autotrader has been best for me as a seller and Pistonheads as a buyer.