closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches



TZ-UK Fundraiser
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Virginmedia Superhub 3

  1. #1

    Virginmedia Superhub 3

    All,

    I'm getting a few issues with my current set up, VM SH 2 in modem mode linked to a Asus RT66U. The odd issue with buffering / stopping during streaming and delay when browsing on wi fi.

    I've tried the usual rebooting etc and also updated the firmware.

    Is it time to upgrade to the VM SH 3 and use that by itself or as a modem linked to the ASUS?

    Any opinions on the SH 3 greatly received.

    I have a Smart TV and PS4 hardwired and the other bits and pieces, iphones and ipads / laptops are all on wi fi. But not in constant use and streaming etc.

    Best,

    Ben

  2. #2
    Master subseastu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Ashby, uk
    Posts
    1,414
    I had the original superhub and had issues for years, Virgin where little help until I threatened to leave. Amazingly a superhub 3 turned up and I've not had any problems since. For information I live in house with engineering brick internal walls so wifi doesn't travel well. I've hooked my superhub up to the BT wifi discs and its great.

  3. #3

    Hello

    Thanks for the post.

    I think i'll speak with them anyway and see if i can get one. I've been with them for a long time now, pretty happy with them just had the odd issue.

    Best,

    Ben

  4. #4
    Master IAmATeaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    NW London
    Posts
    3,934
    Iíve been using a SH3 for quite a while now, had to revert back to a SH2a last year but a firmware upgrade to the SH3 has resolved/hidden the latency issues that it suffered from.

  5. #5

    Hello

    Very good to know.

    I'm presuming you don't need to log in to the SH3 to get the firmware update its one of these restart / reboot it and it will do it by itself?

    Best,

    Ben

  6. #6
    Master IAmATeaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    NW London
    Posts
    3,934
    Yes the firmware is applied automatically by Virgin media so you donít get a say.

  7. #7

    Hello

    That's good, i'm more concerned with booming the router!

    Although i have updated firmware before.

  8. #8
    Master IAmATeaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    NW London
    Posts
    3,934
    Booming?

  9. #9

    Hello

    I think the technical term is brick it.

  10. #10
    Iíve got this hub and itís pants I need 3 boosters in my house to get coverage and it still just switches off when it feels like it, normally after eldest son has been on fortnite, Sonos system randomly shuts off also and lights start flashing on hub, will be moving back to BT I think

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Hooshabak View Post
    Iíve got this hub and itís pants I need 3 boosters in my house to get coverage and it still just switches off when it feels like it, normally after eldest son has been on fortnite, Sonos system randomly shuts off also and lights start flashing on hub, will be moving back to BT I think
    We've not been with Virgin long &have the SH3, Iíve also had to reset the Sonos system regularly. Annoying to say the least!

  12. #12
    Master IAmATeaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    NW London
    Posts
    3,934
    Quote Originally Posted by burnside View Post
    I think the technical term is brick it.
    With Virgin you donít really control the upgrade as they push it out and your router just updates.

  13. #13
    Master subseastu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Ashby, uk
    Posts
    1,414
    Quote Originally Posted by bigvic View Post
    We've not been with Virgin long &have the SH3, Iíve also had to reset the Sonos system regularly. Annoying to say the least!
    I used to have this issue but having fitted the BT wifi discs throughout the house this solved the problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •