closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Interesting CCJ against builder

Interesting CCJ against builder

I've just read this consumer case and it raises an interesting problem I had no idea existed:

https://www.theguardian.com/money/20...company-status

Could the consumer pursue a civil case against the individual to reclaim the money?

Master
    Blog Entries
    It's been this way forever. Dodgy traders can hide behind limited company status by starting up new companies as they're not personally liable for the company debts. As the article infers, you can chase them, but the cost is highly likely to outweigh any recompense.

It might not have helped in this case, but never ever pay fully in advance for building work and if possible don't pay anything on top of a resonable deposit until the corresponding work is signed off (staged payments)

Master
    Blog Entries
    I'm not a lawyer, but I thought that the purpose of a limited liability company was to limit debts to the company, not the personal assets of the directors (unless they, for example, add a personal guarantee for a loan).

This brings additional responsibilities to the company, such as requirements for accounts and the need to pay corporation tax on profits.

Sent from my moto e5 play using Tapatalk

Didn't someone in another thread claim they sued a builder not the company?

Quote Originally Posted by Kingstepper View Post
    Didn't someone in another thread claim they sued a builder not the company?
    That's what I was thinking, but the 'consumer champion' doesn't suggest this for whatever reason?

Master
    As previously stated, this as always been the case.