closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Calling any sparkies......is this an acceptable repair?

Craftsman

Calling any sparkies......is this an acceptable repair?

Hope to get some advice here please. We've had some work done on the house today and a gas fitter has managed to drill through the electrical ring main. He's effected a repair as shown:

Two concerns: (1). He's used a stranded cable, not sure of the size but it doesn't look like 2.5mm^2. Can you mix stranded and solid cable? It's not a big worry as I have plenty of spare T+E so I think I'll change it for peace of mind. (2). The connector blocks are rated at 16A 400V, our ring main is 30A 240V, do these connectors need to be changed as well?

Thanks in advance!

Journeyman
    I'm no electrician but that looks like a bodge up

I’m not a qualified spark but did serve an apprenticeship as an electro-mechanical engineer....
    Definitely doesn’t look right
    Maybe a gel-filled junction box at least? If it’s to be plastered over?

I’m no spark either but crimping it would have been easier and better
    It’s a bodge

Master
    Blog Entries
    I’m a gas fitter we’ve all drilled through a wire at some point, your pic is a temporary fix and he should arrange for a sparkle to come and make good.

Blog Entries
    Looks very similar to a repair I did once, after drilling through a cable, in my teens in a rented house. I'm not an electrician, and it was a bodge!
    Started out with nothing. Still have most of it left.

Master
    Not a sparkie but that’s a temporary fix at best, accidents happen but that needs mending properly, I’m concerned the cable in the middle isn’t correctly rated looks small, if any electrical load makes it heat up those choc blocks could melt, that’s a gash repair. I’d have that seen to properly - easy enough to properly crimp something in place and heat shrink it to make it safe
    Good luck spring it out

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk