closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Triathlons

Triathlons

I’ll be competing in my first sprint triathlon on Sunday in Leeds ,I started training in January,the first proper exercise I’ve done in 25 years,I’m not really bothered about the time as long as I get round .
    I know applehands of this parish is doing it ,anybody else doing it or other triathlons .

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yeah, great fun! Just did the Tewkesbury Sprint Tri a couple of weeks back.

They are great fun, particularly transition. Enjoy and fire away with the questions I'm sure everyone will chip in with advice.

What are the distances?

750m/18k/7.5k

Quote Originally Posted by mk1974 View Post
    750m/18k/7.5k

Cool, got all your gear sorted out? If you're like me it'll all go out of your head in transition! If you're planning on doing some, I'd get a fenix or similar to record some metrics, swim pace, bike pace, etc. I know you get the full split times: swim, T1, bike, T2 and run but it's always nice to review afterwards and watch how your performance improves as you go on.

Master
    Blog Entries
    I've done about a hundred triathlons over the years. You can lose a lot of time in the transitions...or gain a lot if you get it right. Worth thinking about it, laying stuff out in the right order, elastic laces etc.

In my experience most athletes neglect the bike training. The bike is the biggest part of the race & it's relatively easy to get, say, 5 minutes faster on the bike. OTOH it's almost impossible to improve by 5 minutes on the swim.

It's a long race. Get the pacing right. Don't start too hard!

Swim your own race. It’s so easy to get caught up in the pace of others.

Master
    Blog Entries
    I am off on my bike early in the morning 5.30am do a few miles then get to Chasewater (Staffordshire) to watch the start of Ironman at 7am

1.2 mile swim in the lake
    56 mile Bike ride. ( I will have done half of the route)