closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches



TZ-UK Fundraiser
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 51 to 74 of 74

Thread: Installing Hikvision CCTV

  1. #51
    Quote Originally Posted by jwillans View Post
    Basic question - does standard cat 5 support Poe?

    Where would one typically mount cameras on a two story house? Just below the facia on the brickwork?
    Yes Poe will work, just uses standard cable.

    As for mounting, obviously out of reach but wherever will give the best view.

  2. #52
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Chesham, Bucks
    Posts
    324
    Whilst all those wide angle shots look great and might make you feel warm and cosy, you aren't going to get decent mugshots of any perps who choose to wander round your property day or night.

    Adjustable zoom to get up close and personal is essential as well as one or two general wide angle shots for perspective. I have 6 of my 8 cameras zoomed in close to hotspots whilst only two provide the sort of wide angle coverage in those examples above.

    CCTV42 are a good firm to deal with and they have a useful set of videos explaining the rationale for zooming in:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=52pItZIBTgY

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lyfnAvHRVME

  3. #53
    Master
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire
    Posts
    1,266
    Does anyone have a close up of camera so I understand how the Ethernet is connected into it.

    I assume the mount will wrap over the cabling securely and push fit into rear of unit?

    Iím looking at hikvision but will look at other suggestions. Useful thread chaps!

  4. #54
    This is from a Hikvsion dome camera

  5. #55
    Itís not deep enough to sit over the connectors they would need to go into a connection box or in the soffit t

  6. #56
    Master
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire
    Posts
    1,266
    Fantastic. That is so helpful. Much appreciated

  7. #57
    Master IAmATeaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    NW London
    Posts
    3,923
    Ideally you want cams mounted at around 8ft upto a max of around 10ft. Cams fitted to the soffit will only capture the tops of heads.

    I mounted all my cams on a junction box, even the ones that didnít need it. The thought being it should be easier should I ever need to get to the cables and the box provides some level of water proffing.

  8. #58
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Leics/Notts border
    Posts
    713
    Before you spend £300 to £1k fitting cameras just sit down & see how your £20 standard lock compares with a £53 to £69 lock. (This price is for locks only which if you already have door with Ultion lock is all you need)

    This was eye opening for me & one reason I now have this locking system on my doors before looking at cameras.

    https://youtu.be/D-b4q_hg4KU
    Last edited by g40steve; 16th August 2019 at 09:36.

  9. #59
    Quote Originally Posted by Harry Smith View Post
    Our HIK 7600 series 4ch NVR is installed in the loft and we access via phones and laptop. However, getting a new NVR this weekend as the other one gone duff.
    What happened to the NVR?

    We access ours via the phone app too, but from time to time it goes offline, with the logs saying "Abnormal Shutdown".
    We've replaced the HD, the unit itself, the power supply, but it still occurs. Ruled out weather and electrics in the home (all other devices are fine).

    Searching on Google, it seems to be a very common issue with Hik Vision CCTV NVR setups but no real answer, it seems.

  10. #60
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    640
    Thanks for all the help so far. Can anyone recommend third party wireless IP cameras that work the Hikvision system? I'm looking for some (budget) cameras to be used internally to complement the outdoor Hikvision cameras.

  11. #61
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Solihull
    Posts
    323
    Whilst we're on the subject of Hikvision, I came home to mine making strange beeping noises, it seems like 4 or 5 beeps, so it's telling me something, but can't work out what.

    Because it's not recording or showing the HDD in the config, I've assumed it's that, that's faulty, has anyone got experience of swapping HDDs in a Hikvision DVR, is it complicated? Do they take any/most SATA hard drives?

  12. #62
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Chesham, Bucks
    Posts
    324
    Quote Originally Posted by jwillans View Post
    Where would one typically mount cameras on a two story house? Just below the facia on the brickwork?
    Not unless you want to record the tops of people's heads. See the links I already provided to ideal camera positioning (You Tube CCTV42 channel).

  13. #63
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Leics/Notts border
    Posts
    713
    Recent fitted quote;

    4 X DS-2CD2365G1-i 6mp cameras
    4 Chan NVR
    All cables, truncking, setup & ipad/pnone setup
    £950

    Where has everyone got there cameras sited for best coverage?

  14. #64
    Master IAmATeaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    NW London
    Posts
    3,923
    Location of cams will vary according to the layout of your house. Ideal height is around 8ft to 10ft else youíll be capturing the tops of heads.

  15. #65
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    640
    I've taken a look at my cameras today and junction boxes. These are to be mounted on a vertical wall but with the junction box they seem to protrude massively, is the junction box the usual way of wall mounting these?

  16. #66
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Chesham, Bucks
    Posts
    324
    Quote Originally Posted by jwillans View Post
    I've taken a look at my cameras today and junction boxes. These are to be mounted on a vertical wall but with the junction box they seem to protrude massively, is the junction box the usual way of wall mounting these?
    The jb goes by the side of the camera. As far as possible, mount the jb over the hole where your cables come through the wall of the house.

  17. #67
    Iíve learnt the following while siting cameras. Have a specific purpose for a camera and site it to address that. Sometimes youíll want to protect an asset, building access in the near distance, garage etc. Itís no good having a big wide angle view if the garage door if you see two blobs approach and force the door, you need to be tight. I guess thatís why PTZ pan-tilt-zoom cameras exist where they are monitored otherwise theyíll be the wrong zoom pointing in the wrong direction. I would choose and site them to optimise one major task. Any other coverage is a side-benefit. I needed to capture faces coming up a main path, behaviour in a reception area including attempts to use a door lock keypad, and a tight shot of a specific asset outdoors. I needed a general car park view. No need for number plate level resolution. All these different tasks required different focal lengths and specific siting.

  18. #68
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    640
    Quote Originally Posted by broxie View Post
    The jb goes by the side of the camera. As far as possible, mount the jb over the hole where your cables come through the wall of the house.
    Are you sure? The supplier and YouTube videos all suggest that the turret camera is mounted on top.

  19. #69
    Master IAmATeaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    NW London
    Posts
    3,923

    Installing Hikvision CCTV

    Quote Originally Posted by jwillans View Post
    Are you sure? The supplier and YouTube videos all suggest that the turret camera is mounted on top.
    You can do it either way but with the pigtail from the cam being short you would be limited in terms of the distance from the junction box plus youíd have a cable (possibly) visible if the cam is mounted to the side/top/bottom of the junction box.

    I have all my cams mounted on the junction box, yes it does mean that the cam protrudes a bit more from the wall but in some case that can help get a better view when angling the cam especially at night when the IR comes on as you want to avoid it reflecting off the walls. That inch can make a big difference.
    Last edited by IAmATeaf; 24th August 2019 at 18:58.

  20. #70
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Chesham, Bucks
    Posts
    324
    The problem I found is sealing it all up. The jbs I use are plastic with grommets to keep out the rain. The cameras are well sealed so prefer to have the jb adjacent to the camera for ease of access/exchange. The cameras I use are metal so fix more rigidly to a brick wall and less susceptible to wobbling in a breeze than if they were extended from the wall on a jb.

    As for the wires, a determined scroat is going to get in anyway, 90% of all this is deterrent.

  21. #71
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    640
    Quote Originally Posted by IAmATeaf View Post
    You can do it either way but with the pigtail from the cam being short you would be limited in terms of the distance from the junction box plus youíd have a cable (possibly) visible if the cam is mounted to the side/top/bottom of the junction box.

    I have all my cams mounted on the junction box, yes it does mean that the cam protrudes a bit more from the wall but in some case that can help get a better view when angling the cam especially at night when the IR comes on as you want to avoid it reflecting off the walls. That inch can make a big difference.
    Thanks - good to know I'm not making a school by error!

  22. #72
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    640
    Quote Originally Posted by jwillans View Post
    Thanks for all the help so far. Can anyone recommend third party wireless IP cameras that work the Hikvision system? I'm looking for some (budget) cameras to be used internally to complement the outdoor Hikvision cameras.
    Anyone any thoughts on internal wireless cameras to use with the Hikvision pvrs?

  23. #73
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Leics/Notts border
    Posts
    713
    Having my system fitted Monday, having alarm box replaced with new led strobe version as well.

  24. #74
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Leics/Notts border
    Posts
    713
    Well took roughly eight hours to fit,
    New alarm box with LED & strobe,
    DS-7600 NVR with Seagate 2TB Skyhawk drive,
    4 x DS-2CD2365G1-I cameras,
    Outside cabling run in conduit & very pleased with quality of finish & fit.
    Now have front door, side extension & back door & other side of extension views. Set up for motion capture & all bushes & trees excluded from recording.
    Will up load some shots when I get some time over next few days.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •