closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Camera for a beginner

Master

Camera for a beginner

A complete beginner, but someone who wouldn't mind trying to become proficient to a degree.

Just wondering if anyone has any recommendations, be it a DSLR or such, best all around lenses types etc.

The initial use would be for nature shots, forests, hills etc. I'll be spending a few weeks in Nevada and California and my host has mentioned the potential to see bears at a gold claim of his, and that was enough for me to think about ditching my reliance on a smart phone and learn how to take some worthwhile shots! I don't have a large budget, 1k would be the limit second hand, and that would require selling a few watches to justify.

Any thoughts welcome :)

Master
    You need to think about two things , not only the camera but the lens. Irrespective of the camera to fill the frame with a “bear” you need a 200mm so when looking within your budget ignore 22-70 mm type lenses as they will leave you wanting

Steve

Master
    Quote Originally Posted by hafle View Post
    A complete beginner, but someone who wouldn't mind trying to become proficient to a degree.

Just wondering if anyone has any recommendations, be it a DSLR or such, best all around lenses types etc.

The initial use would be for nature shots, forests, hills etc. I'll be spending a few weeks in Nevada and California and my host has mentioned the potential to see bears at a gold claim of his, and that was enough for me to think about ditching my reliance on a smart phone and learn how to take some worthwhile shots! I don't have a large budget, 1k would be the limit second hand, and that would require selling a few watches to justify.

Any thoughts welcome :)
    Nikon DX DSLR and you may as well get the kit 50mm f1.8 as it's a good lens

used Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED VR Lens for Nature and other things

a couple of good SD cards