closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches



TZ-UK Fundraiser
Results 1 to 33 of 33

Thread: Installing Hikvision CCTV

  1. #1
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    656

    Installing Hikvision CCTV

    The plan is to have 5 external cameras. I've got the cables in place and terminated. Now pondering installation. Looking online, it seems like the Hikvision cameras, NVR, hard drive etc are around 750. I've been quoted 1500 installed. So the question is - how difficult is installation? Can I do it myself?

    Has anyone here tried it and has any experience to share?

  2. #2
    Craftsman Arcam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    624
    If you have run and terminated the cables then that is a lot of the work (60% plus) already done as it only leaves the cameras and recorder to be fitted.

    So I would just finish it off myself as screwing cameras to a wall is easy ... unless you have an awkward building with special access requirements.

    Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
    Last edited by Arcam; 5th May 2019 at 18:07.

  3. #3
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    545
    Cable is the hardest work, buy the kit and install yourself.
    Save a load of cash and learn a bit along the way.

  4. #4
    Master IAmATeaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    NW London
    Posts
    3,837
    Agree with the above, if the cables are there then installing the actual cams is the next hardest step. Have a look at the site ipcamtalk which has lots of useful advice.

    Ive been looking at getting a cctv installed at my house, so far Ive got the cams, went for Duhua Starlight cams and Ive decided to use Blue Iris software on a dedicated PC instead of an NVR which should allow a lot more flexibility.

    Ive got a company lined up to do the actual cable runs and cam install, who have quoted around 550 to install 6 cams. The actual setup of the cams once cams have been installed Ill do myself.

  5. #5
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    545
    Personally, I like using Hikvision turbo HD.
    Fit 5mp cameras and only 40 each. Use CAT 5 and a doddle to fit.
    I was fitting cameras 20 year ago with time lapse video and multiplexer, so wish I'd got into it full time as kit now is so easy to install

  6. #6
    Master Skyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Here and there
    Posts
    6,394
    Serious question. Why on earth do you need five external cameras?
    Last edited by Skyman; 5th May 2019 at 21:03.

  7. #7
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    545
    Supprising how many you do need to cover all angles, I have 9

  8. #8
    Master Skyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Here and there
    Posts
    6,394
    Quote Originally Posted by Gee252 View Post
    Supprising how many you do need to cover all angles, I have 9
    Fine, but not sure why the need. Do we live in the Bronx?

  9. #9
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Sheffield, UK
    Posts
    605
    Quote Originally Posted by Gee252 View Post
    Personally, I like using Hikvision turbo HD.
    Fit 5mp cameras and only 40 each. Use CAT 5 and a doddle to fit.
    I was fitting cameras 20 year ago with time lapse video and multiplexer, so wish I'd got into it full time as kit now is so easy to install
    Could you please provide a link to these cameras?

  10. #10
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    545
    No, but but you would be supprised on how much a deterrent they are. Not the best times we live in.
    Personally I have always had them as I spent over 30 years working away from home leaving my family on a weekly basis.
    Certainly gave me piece of mind.

    Sent from my Mi MIX 2 using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    Master Skyman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Here and there
    Posts
    6,394
    Quote Originally Posted by Gee252 View Post
    No, but but you would be supprised on how much a deterrent they are. Not the best times we live in.
    Personally I have always had them as I spent over 30 years working away from home leaving my family on a weekly basis.
    Certainly gave me piece of mind.

    Sent from my Mi MIX 2 using Tapatalk
    Fair enough.

  12. #12
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Uk
    Posts
    545
    Quote Originally Posted by jwillans View Post
    Could you please provide a link to these cameras?
    A lot are trade sites, but you can quite easily get them.of eBay.
    Most of mine are white but have just done a garden room with grey soffit so last one I got was great and just over 40
    Try these.

    Sent from my Mi MIX 2 using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    Craftsman Man of Kent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Garden of England
    Posts
    970
    Quote Originally Posted by Skyman View Post
    Fine, but not sure why the need. Do we live in the Bronx?
    Probably worse than the bronx unfortunately.

  14. #14
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Sheffield, UK
    Posts
    605
    Quote Originally Posted by Gee252 View Post
    A lot are trade sites, but you can quite easily get them.of eBay.
    Most of mine are white but have just done a garden room with grey soffit so last one I got was great and just over 40
    Try these.

    Sent from my Mi MIX 2 using Tapatalk
    Many thanks!

  15. #15
    Journeyman
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    194
    I had my shotgun cable run during refurb for 4 cameras........ It took 2 hrs to run the cables. On the day of the fitting (after refurb complete) it took approx 3 hrs to fit the cameras and pin the cables. The setting up of the dvr and getting the cameras facing the correct angle was the hard part as the engineer was having to constantly bounce around on the ladder and than refer back to the dvr. Value for money and warranty i think you can't go wrong with hikvision. I shopped around and got the best deal from a company in West London.

    Sent from my CLT-L09 using Tapatalk

  16. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by Merkaholic View Post
    I had my shotgun cable run during refurb for 4 cameras........ It took 2 hrs to run the cables. On the day of the fitting (after refurb complete) it took approx 3 hrs to fit the cameras and pin the cables. The setting up of the dvr and getting the cameras facing the correct angle was the hard part as the engineer was having to constantly bounce around on the ladder and than refer back to the dvr. Value for money and warranty i think you can't go wrong with hikvision. I shopped around and got the best deal from a company in West London.

    Sent from my CLT-L09 using Tapatalk
    Being as you can get a perfect view on an iPad sitting on the top of your step ladder I'd say you installer was nuts.

  17. #17
    Journeyman
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    194
    Quote Originally Posted by catch21 View Post
    Being as you can get a perfect view on an iPad sitting on the top of your step ladder I'd say you installer was nuts.
    True but unfortunately he only had a laptop.

    Sent from my CLT-L09 using Tapatalk

  18. #18
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Sheffield, UK
    Posts
    605
    Am I correct in understanding that the Hikvision IP system does not extend to incorporate regular alarm type capabilities (i.e. sensors and alarm boxes etc.)? Would any alarm system sit in parallel to the video surveillance system?

  19. #19
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    656
    Thanks for the advice everyone! Off to do a bit more research on camera types and the details...

  20. #20
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Peterborough, Cambs
    Posts
    360
    Sat here just now showing my father-in-law how to terminate CAT5 cable for his CCTV install. Hes using HIKvision cameras too, with a central DVR unit which has IP access to allow you to view feeds from any phone/tablet/laptop.

    The DVR has quite a noticeable whine from the fans so would be worth locating this out of the way in a cupboard but otherwise the whole install is proving to be very simple with power-over-Ethernet cables and the only other real requirement is a tall enough ladder to reach your desired mounting points. Best of luck.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  21. #21
    Journeyman
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    194
    Try ssr trading in Park Royal London. I found them to be the most competitive and excellent service.

    Sent from my CLT-L09 using Tapatalk

  22. #22
    Quote Originally Posted by Merkaholic View Post
    True but unfortunately he only had a laptop.

    Sent from my CLT-L09 using Tapatalk
    Even better. The NVR should be on the network which is accessible via it's browser interface over wifi from outside? What was he looking at inside, the monitor attached to the NVR?

  23. #23
    Journeyman
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    194
    Quote Originally Posted by catch21 View Post
    Even better. The NVR should be on the network which is accessible via it's browser interface over wifi from outside? What was he looking at inside, the monitor attached to the NVR?
    Yep.....

    Sent from my CLT-L09 using Tapatalk

  24. #24
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    656
    Quote Originally Posted by Merkaholic View Post
    Try ssr trading in Park Royal London. I found them to be the most competitive and excellent service.

    Sent from my CLT-L09 using Tapatalk
    Do they deal with retail customers i.e. non-trade?

  25. #25
    Journeyman
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    194
    Quote Originally Posted by Ethos View Post
    Do they deal with retail customers i.e. non-trade?
    Yes definitely........

    Sent from my CLT-L09 using Tapatalk

  26. #26
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Leics/Notts border
    Posts
    670
    Just bumping this.
    Can someone advise what I need for three/four camera system, dvr how big HD etc.
    What cameras are everyone using?
    Is POE the way to go?

  27. #27
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    London
    Posts
    656
    I went with 6mp turret cameras (no spider problems) and an NVR with 4TB hard drive. If you google Hikvision CCTV kits, you should come with plenty of options

  28. #28
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Leics/Notts border
    Posts
    670
    Cheers :)

  29. #29
    Master IAmATeaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    NW London
    Posts
    3,837
    I finally got my 6 Dahua 2Mp starlights cams installed last week. Went with another installer in the end who offered much better advice and was prepared to also run cables to the garage.

    Im using a PC running Blue Iris, bit of a learning curve but Im slowly getting there. Have set it up so we can access the cams and footage remotely.

    Ive set mine up to record on motion so am hoping that Ill be able to have around 1 months footage on the 2 2Tb drives that I have installed in the PC


  30. #30
    Master mindforge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,867
    Looking at this too now as rewiring the house, I have a NAS drive, would u use that or do I have to use the supplied drive? Is there an alarm system which integrates with the Hikvision cameras? Thanks!

  31. #31
    Craftsman
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    534
    Quote Originally Posted by mindforge View Post
    Looking at this too now as rewiring the house, I have a NAS drive, would u use that or do I have to use the supplied drive?
    It depends on the NAS, some makes like Synology and QNAP have a camera solution built in. Otherwise, you're better off with an internal drive for most NVRs just for the read/write speed alone.

    Is there an alarm system which integrates with the Hikvision cameras? Thanks!
    That really depends more on the cameras/NVR than the alarm. The typical arrangement is that the alarm has an output that is wired to the cameras/NVR, and upon trigger the camera/NVR sends a snapshot to a pre-arranged address. Some cameras and NVRs have this ability built in, some can have it added, some cannot.

    Here is the device I use when needed for my installs. https://www.axis.com/products/axis-t6101
    Last edited by jcm3; Yesterday at 17:02.

  32. #32
    Master mindforge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,867
    Quote Originally Posted by jcm3 View Post
    It depends on the NAS, some makes like Synology and QNAP have a camera solution built in. Otherwise, you're better off with an internal drive for most NVRs just for the read/write speed alone.



    That really depends more on the cameras/NVR than the alarm. The typical arrangement is that the alarm has an output that is wired to the cameras/NVR, and upon trigger the camera/NVR sends a snapshot to a pre-arranged address. Some cameras and NVRs have this ability built in, some can have it added, some cannot.

    Here is the device I use when needed for my installs. https://www.axis.com/products/axis-t6101
    Thanks very much.

  33. #33
    Master IAmATeaf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    NW London
    Posts
    3,837
    Be warned, Synology charge quite a lot to license each camera you want it to monitor/record.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •