closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Quick central heating question

Master

Quick central heating question

Hi

Having a small problem with our central heating system at the moment. We have it set on a timer so it comes on at say 6.30 and goes off at 9 etc. Last few days it seems that the timing function hasn't been working - as in the heating hasn't come on.

If I switch the heating off from the controller, I can hear a valve close or switch off on the heating system and if I then set the controller to 'on' as opposed to running the timer programme, it starts working.

I'm not sure if the problem is with the controller or something else on the system. The controller is a Drayton LP522. We've used these controllers for ages and they're pretty bullet proof. Any ideas what I could check or any tests I could run before I have to call someone in?

Cheers

Craftsman

I’m no expert

But it’s usually mechanical things that fail as opposed to electrical. The motorised valves tend to fail but it sounds like yours is kicking in. Depending on what type you have fitted there is normally a lever or knurled ring that can be moved manually if the motor fails. Try and have an assistant turn the thermostat up from a point where the boiler is not firing whilst you watch the valve. If the valve kicks in and the heating works then I would suspect the timer. Once the valve kicks in touch the pipes either side of it to ensure the water is passing through the valve. Needless to say be careful with hot pipes.

Blog Entries
    Same here... Dutch brand boiler (Nefit). We're aware of the trouble: the boiler is on its last legs (18 y/o) A new one will be installed within a week. The boiler-settings override the clock signals. Perhaps it is good to check the boiler as well!

M

Master
    If the controller is battery powered (remote) check the batteries are not low. Ours acted funny on depleted batteries.