closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Does "Charging" wear out lume?!

Journeyman

Does "Charging" wear out lume?!

Apologies if this is a newbie (idiot) question but does "charging" lume with a torch (aka a flashlight in certain circles) prematurely age it; or burn it out/fade it long term?

I am new to this mararky and the lume of my skx is hopeless overnight in these Autumnal months, unless zapped with my 1000 lumen Fenix before retiring......!

Will doing this age it prematurely.....? And if so will a 500 lumen blast do 50% less damage.....?!

Cheers!

Shouldn't do anything, or at least in experience over the years has had no ill effect using modded surefires etc.
    Currently a nano second on turbo with a Nitecore concept 2 does the trick for me :P

Master
    Great question, have wondered about this in the past and would be interested to hear others thoughts on the matter.

Blog Entries
    Google shows this inconclusive article https://timetransformed.com/2015/08/...nova-runs-out/

I'm no expert but from memory modern lume (Superluminova or Lumibrite) is usually strontium aluminate mixed with a dopant (activator) and other (non-toxic) chemicals depending on formulation. RC Tritec (makers of Superluminova) claim that it doesn't age but will degrade on contact with moisture. I assume the same is true of Lumibrite.

Master
    Would have thought that even a powerful torch at point blank range is less aggressive than direct sunlight in summer. Having said that, I have wondered if watch lume that lives predominantly in the dark lasts longer.

Master