closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Limited company van advice

Journeyman

Limited company van advice

Hi can anyone give me a bit of advice on leasing a van through my ltd company?

I have an accountant that is a family member but basically all she does is my books but offers little in the way of advice or much help really. I'm a carpenter so we exchange services when we can, she does my books and I do up her house.

My 11 year old transits at the stage that it's costing more to keep on the road than it would to lease a new one. So I've looked at vanarama and other lease options. I really don't understand tax jargon so would appreciate if it was simplified as best as possible.

I've spoke to a few people saying a "lease is tax deductible". Am I right in thinking that if I'm due say £10k to the tax man at the end of the year that the cost of the lease would come out of this as an expense? So 10k minus 2k lease would be 8k to the tax man?

Or is it only 20% of the 2k lease that I would get as relief?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Sent from my STF-L09 using Tapatalk

Limited company van advice

Some (more) capable members will chip in but no, not quite.
    Your expenses reduce your profits.
    The taxman takes a share of that profit.
    If you’re VAT registered, lease is usually a no brainer
    'Against stupidity, the gods themselves struggle in vain' - Schiller.

Craftsman
    The big benefit you might get is if you're VAT registered, but if not, we can ignore it.

At the end of a year of leasing, the total cost is added to the rest of your overheads, and comes off your income, giving you the profit, which is then taxable.

So, if your income is £50k, overheads are £10k, van is another £2k, your profit will be £38k, that attracts corporation tax, which is too complicated to go into here, but does that make it any clearer?

Master