closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Decisions decisions - GMT or Pelagos

Journeyman

Decisions decisions - GMT or Pelagos

So I've been kind of on the hunt for BB GMT for the last couple months, but didn't have the funds. Now I've got the funds and I'm feeling quite impatient (I'm not very good at waiting for things)!!

I love the GMT and could easily see myself wearing it for many many years without getting bored, although the I've never tried one on or even seen one in the flesh, so can't be 100% certain till I try one on.

A watch that I've always adored as well is the Pelagos LHD. So now I face the tough choice of waiting for 6 months for a GMT or going out and picking up a Pelagos within the next few days. Also doing some travelling in October and November this year, so would prefer to get my new watch before then. Which if I go for the GMT means I'll have to pay over RRP. I don't mind a couple hundred over RRP, but currently most sellers want close to £1000 over!

I know that ultimately watches need to be bought with the heart, but I like to know what I'm getting myself into when spending several thousand on a watch, so what does everyone think in terms which one will hold its value better between the LHD and GMT?

Master
    Have you been to some shops for the GMT?

Despite the ‘shortage’ I saw 3 in a shop window the other day.

Master
    LHD for me. I own the blue Pelagos and the gmt is 1mm thicker still which is too much imo. The Pelagos suits the proportions as a dive watxh but the gmt imo should be smaller both in diameter and thickness, more akin to the Rolex (40mm x 12mm).

Ultimately you need to try them on to really know.

Craftsman
    Have you seen the LHD in the flesh? I wasn't 100% sure of the mix of super modern design with vintagey touches. I'd get the GMT but I travel a lot so the functionality is very useful for me.

Quote Originally Posted by jameswrx View Post

Care to say where exactly, please?