closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What sparked your interest in watches?

Master

What sparked your interest in watches?

I’m a late developer at 64. My ‘interest’ arose from a reluctance to continually pay overinflated prices to have the battery changed in my 30 year old Ebel. So I began a search for a decent mechanical watch that I could wear on all occasions. Settled on a DJ as I fancied accuracy too.Would have preferred a see through back but hey ho, maybe next time
    (Hope this hasn’t been done too often but a search didn’t throw anything up.)

Received a DJ for my 21st, had no interest in watches before then.

Blog Entries
    OP - you do realise there is no way out now? You will have 10 watches in less years if you stay logged into this forum!

Anyway, to answer your question. For many years I (like many I suspect) had an Omega Seamaster Bond Quartz (aka GoldenEye) . Then I fancied something different and tried the Omega multi-function Seamaster - though the first one flooded first time I wore it in the bath - even though it was listed as 120m wrt. Then tried a MK1 X-33 - super watch. Then got a Breitling Crosswind Special as my so the journey began.... that was more than 10 years ago - TZ being UK based was refreshing from the US centric other sites.

Martyn

OP out of curiosity how much were these battery changes costing you? Fairly simple task. Think my local watch guy only charges £5 or something if it’s a straightforward swap.

Datejust a great first expensive watch. The trick now is to make it your last. Good luck with that 🤣

When I was 7 or 8 I received a Timex watch for Christmas.

I've been ill ever since!

An older colleague at work sold me this Omega as he 'had too many watches'. At the time, a situation as far beyond my comprehension as if he'd admitted to be in possession of too many legs.

That was 1992. I now have too many watches.

Craftsman