closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Home Design CAD Software

Home Design CAD Software

I've done a bit of a search but not come up with anything substantial so I thought this was worth asking...

Does anyone have any recommendations for some basic CAD software for sketching out ideas for extending and converting my new house?

I don't need it to be super-slick - just something that I can use to play around with ideas and maybe visualise the results in 3D before briefing an architect. Needs to be Mac based.

While I'm on the subject, does anyone have any recommendations for good books about building/renovation.

Many thanks in advance.

Take a look at 'Sketchup'

I have a free version and it's great for doing simple stuff, without going the full ACAD route.

Master
    Quote Originally Posted by Mouse View Post
    Take a look at 'Sketchup'
    ^ This.

Quite intuitive and surprisingly capable. A few hours self taught tinkering using only basic functions and I managed to produce a simple but decent enough 3D model of my gaff, inside and out. Quite useful for visualising any potential improvements or extensions. I used it to help the mrs understand some planned internal alterations.

Mine is Windows PC based, but I believe there is a Mac version too.

Not for Mac, but while we're here, DraftSight is a free AutoCad clone, that can read and write .dwg files.

https://www.3ds.com/products-service...free-download/

DraftSight certainly does work on a Mac, I have it on mine. It's not, however, particularly suited to a beginner - perfect for me though, as I've been using AutoCAD since it ran under DOS! Also, it's very much 2D only but you can't argue with the price..

Cheers,

Plug

Thanks. The free version seems only to exist as an online thing - doing your design on the actual website rather than downloading the software. Is that how you used it?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk