closing tag is in template navbar
timefactors watches

TZ-UK Fundraiser

Thread: Please recommend me a road bike for around 500-700GBP (Cycling newbie).

Please recommend me a road bike for around 500-700GBP (Cycling newbie).

Hi all

I am a complete novice when it comes to road bikes, I have not got a clue, but as I am aging I am finding my legs no longer tolerate the impact of running (compartment syndrome/shin splints) and am thinking I now need to get my tarmac miles done via two wheels.

So I am after a novice friendly road bike which will be comfortable, reliable and hopefully pretty fast (I have a neighbour whom I'd like to be able to keep up with, he is more used to cycling but we are otherwise similarly fit and healthy).

Any recommendations on makes, models, gearing, brakes, wheels, tyres, deals packages would be much appreciated.

My old Mountain bike was from Evans and is a Pinnacle. That seems a good spec for the price and I was thinking along similar lines for a road bike with a Pinnacle Laterite 2, more info here: https://www.evanscycles.com/pinnacle...-bike-EV299414

I have resigned that I do not need; nor can I afford, a Carbon frame, then the main difference seems to be gearing. A guy at work recons you must have 105 gears but again that seems to be on £1000 bikes generally. Does that make much difference? For what its worth I live in Chelmsford, Essex which is pretty darn flat other than Danbury Hill, Maldon Hill and Saltcoats Hill at South Woodham.

I think I need a 52cm bike as I'm 5'9" and a little stocky at around 80kg at the moment, but hope to get back to around 74kg for the summer.

I await your recommendations and words of wisdom

Thanking you in advance

Darren
    Last edited by yumma; 28th February 2018 at 09:10.

Craftsman
    It's worth popping over to Decathalon as their road bikes get pretty good reviews, picking the 520 at random as it's 499.

http://www.cyclingweekly.com/reviews...win-triban-520